Kabocha

Picture 022How much do you get your kabocha for? If you are paying for overpriced kabocha, then you should head to your local Asian market. I’ve gotten them for 4 lbs for $0.99 in the past and just this weekend, I picked up one for $1.10 (3 lbs for $0.99). The blogging world has turned me into a kabocha fiend. Kabocha, often described as a hybrid between a pumpkin and a sweet potato is the sweetest among the squash family. Simply steaming it up makes this winter squash delicious. I prepared mine the CCV way, roast for 40 minutes, and then microwave with wet towel covering it for 6 minutes. Not much cooking on my part. Simple and delicious. I devoured my 4 pound kabocha in a matter of days. It is so nice and fluffy when it is fresh out of the microwave (after roasting of course). I couldn’t help but to dig right in. Kabocha is rich in beta carotene, iron, vitamin c, potassium and small amounts of calcium, folic acid and b vitamins. Good in the fiber department if you eat the skin too. The skin becomes soft after cooking to it is totally edible. One cup (85g) of kabocha is 30 calories, 0 WW, 7 grams of carobydrates, 1 gram of fiber, 3 grams of sugar and zero across the board for fat, sodium, cholestrol and protein. Bloggers are so creative with ways to eat kabocha. I’ve seen them eat it with nut butters, in oatmeal, as pudding, on salad, as fries, as dessert, etc… How do you eat your kabocha?

Retails: Varies
My Cost: 3 lbs for $0.99 (on sale)
Calories: 30 per cup
WW: 0

10 Comments

Filed under Pumpkin, WW: 0

10 responses to “Kabocha

  1. i am dying to try this beauty but can’t find it anywhere :\ booo

  2. i have never tried kobacha but It definitely seems to be a blogger favorite! I’ll have to be on the look out

  3. Mmmmmmmm kabocha! Great suggestion to get it at an Asian market; they’re so much cheaper!

  4. I have never seen one before! I’m really excited to try it now; thanks for the info!

  5. fruitsveggieslife

    I love kabocha – 99 cents/lb is the best I can get it for.

  6. My mom gets it whenever I go home to visit and we eat it for days….she just boils it. It’s so good it’s mind boggling!

  7. I need to track down a kabocha!!

  8. I hadn’t actually seen a photo of it (I also forgot to look it up!) I am glad you shared, now I need to try it!

  9. i have one of these in my food cabinet but STILL havent cooked it yet! i need to make it soon :)

  10. I just simply cut it in half, microwave it (cut side down) for about 10-15 mins, let it sit in the microwave for another 5 mins to steam. Then I scoop out the flesh with a fork or spoon into a bowl, stir in a little veganaise (or mayonaise) a little miso paste and it’s a sweet, fluffy, mashed potato-like salad.

Leave a Reply

