Trader Joe’s Chile Spiced Mango

12-22-08_2310I was drooling over the frozen dessert section at Trader Joe, but I couldn’t bring myself to buy anything because there were way too many servings in each box and way too many calories in each serving. Desserts are my downfall, they are too dangerous to keep around the house. Maybe when I’m desperate enough next time, I will take the plunge. There are way too many people at Trader Joe’s this time of year, it was hard to walk around, even without a cart. Trader Joe’s has a really good dried fruits section and there is were I spotted these. I love dried mango and I usually get the “Philippines” brand at the Asian market. A new twist to the usual classic, I had to try these out. I love the sweet and tangy taste of these combine with the paprika, cayenne pepper and a pinch of salt.  The texture is really great, dried, but not dried out like some other dried fruits. The ingredients include: mango, paprika, sugar, salt, cayenne which isn’t too bad except for the added sugar part. Now these I can stop at 1-2 pieces. Reminds me of a little stall at my local Farmer’s Market. They sell freshly cut fruit in a cup and they have seasonings on the side where you can add lemon juice and chile spices on it. Those were AMAZING. I stopped getting them when I saw that they had questionable hygiene problems and a few health code violations. Fresh fruits are always good by themselves, especially when they are in season, but when you add some seasonings, it’s a whole new experience. My mom likes to put plum powder on her apples and I’ve seen people eat fresh strawberries with a dollop of condensed milk and a sprinkle of plum powder as well. I think those are great ways to turn fruit into dessert when you have to have some dessert. These Trader Joe’s Spiced Mango are definitely worth their $1.99 and they ended up saving me a lot of calories.

Retails: $1.99 at Trader Joe’s
My Cost: $1.99
Calories: 110 calories per 30 grams
WW: 2

3 Comments

Filed under chile, Dried Fruit, Mango, Snacks, Trader Joe's

3 responses to “Trader Joe’s Chile Spiced Mango

  1. FollowMyWeigh

    I don’t know why I just can’t get myself to like these! It seems like tons of people like them though, its probably just me =)

  2. i love mango everything, so i’ll have to try these. also, merry christmas :)

  3. Julie

    Hi Marissa, how about dehydrating your own mango with spices you choose?

Leave a Reply

