William Sonoma Peppermint Bark

peppermintbarkNow that the holiday season is over, did you guys score a stash of deeply discounted holiday goodies? I passed on a lot of stuff, especially at Target when  tons of candies were dirt cheap. I asked myself if I really needed them, and the answer was no. I did a little mall shopping this past weekend. When I walk into William Sonoma, I basically want everything. I love the store, but everything in there is too expensive. I walked into William Sonoma with a purpose and that was to get myself some of those famous peppermint bark that almost everyone that has tried them raves about. They were deeply discounted online, but shipping and handling kills the deal so I went into the store myself to try my luck. In-store prices are usually higher than the online prices, but if you kindly ask them to price match to their own website, they will most likely do it. So the original sale price of the 1 lb tin box of peppermint bark was $26.50, they have a sale going on so they have been marked down to $12.99, BUT the online price is $7.99 AND they have a 10% off clearance item coupon for in-store use floating around the net, so it brings my grand total down to $7.78 with tax. Not dirt cheap, but for William Sonoma, that is pretty cheap. If you get two 1 lb tins, I believe that they can price match it to $13.99 and you can use the coupon. The coupon is valid for Jan. 2th thru Jan. 4 th only.  Now for the taste test. I’ve never had peppermint bark so I don’t know what to expect. My guess is that it’s chocolate with crushed peppermint on top. It doesn’t seem like it is something hard to make. The bottom layer is semi-sweet chocolate and the top layer is white chocolate with chunks of peppermint bits. Reading the description on the tin box, it says, “often copied but never matched in quality of flavor”… tooting their own horn a bit, eh? I don’t have any previous brands to compare to, but I like the semi sweet chocolate on the bottom, and the icy fresh peppermint on top, but the white chocolate is a little too sweet for me. The bark is not fragile, but it is easily breakable. Not too thick and not too thin, just perfect. Despite the sweetness, I like it because no one says I have to eat it huge chunks at a time. It comes with an adorable tin box. One tin will last me a plenty long time.

Retail: $12.99 on sale
My Cost: $7.78 price match online plus 10% off coupon
Calories: 140 per 28 grams
WW: 3

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “William Sonoma Peppermint Bark

  1. FollowMyWeigh

    i loove williams & sonoma tooo…but yea, way too overpriced. i bought my friend an oven mitt for christmas from there though haha (she needed a new one). i don’t think i’ve ever tried peppermint bark, but i think i can imagine what it tastes like!

  2. It is pretty pricy, but I LOVE their peppermint bark! I used to work there and loved getting to sample it around the holidays :)

  3. Anything that comes in bark form pretty much has me sold.

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.everygymsnightmare.com

Leave a Reply

