Chobani Non-Fat Greek Yogurt

chobaniBig thanks to Amanda over at Chobani for this wonderful New Years surprise!! I got a small box delivered to my door on New Years Eve and inside were a variety of 7 Chobani. I didn’t really go out to hunt for these, but at the Whole Foods I normally go to, they did not stock these yet. I am so happy I get to try these.

Plain Non-fat Yogurt: Mmmm…. my first Chobani ever and I love it. It is a very thick and creamy non-fat Greek yogurt. Now I know what other lucky bloggers were raving about. Not all Greek yogurts are created equal. Chobani definately stands out among the crowd. The texture is thicker than Oikos, but not as thick as Fage. These are definately worth it to spluge on. To me, it’s like dessert without the guilt. One 6 oz cup is only 100 calories, 0g of fat, 0g of fiber, 7g of sugar, and 18g of protein. Boy are these filling. It will be a perfect snack post gym.

Blueberry Non-fat Yogurt: Not really the “fruit-at-the-bottom” type of yogurt, but a little similar. When I first cracked open the blueberry Chobani, I was greeted with a thick and creamy yogurt with thin layer of blueberry jam-like substance on the top. On the bottom was more of the “jam” as well as real blueberries. I would imagine that any normal person would give this baby a good stir to get a good mixture, but I prefer to eat it un-mixed. So glad I tried the plain flavor first, because now I have something to compare the blueberry one to. Although with fruit, the texture was still really thick and creamy. I’m not a “jam and filling” type of person, but I did not have a problem eating this. The combination is so good. The flavored Chobani are slightly higher in sugar and calories, but they are so worth it. This particular blueberry flavor is 140 calories, 0 grams of fat, 20 grams of sugar, and 14 grams of protein.

Strawberry Non-fat Yogurt: I pretty much expected it to be the same and the blueberry Chobani except with stawberry jam instead of blueberry. I was right. Light drizzle of strawberry jam on top, the bulk of the jam was on the bottom with a few pieces of real strawberries. You can easily bypass the bulk of the jam if you want to avoid some of the sugar. Very satisfying. The 6 ounce cup is 140 calories, 0 grams of fat, 19 grams of sugar and 14 grams of protein. Similar to the stats of the blueberry flavor.

Vanilla Non-fat Yogurt:  When I opened this particular Chobani, there was some excess water floating on the top. I just poured it away and dug in. Hope I didn’t just eat some bad yogurt. (We will find out later tonight.) Rich and creamy Greek yogurt infused with vanilla…yummy. The vanilla flavor is not “jammy” as the other flavored Chobani, thus less sugar and calories. The vanilla flavor has 120 calories, 0 grams of fat, 13 grams of sugar, and 16 grams of protein. No tart flavor at all, just pure vanilla goodness. After a couple spoonfuls, I added some Kashi Heart to Heart cereal into it. It was a perfect combination and it kept me feeling full extra long.

Peach Non-fat Yogurt:  The last flavor in my Chobani stash. Like the rest of the fruit flavored Chobani, these makes for a wonderful treat. 140 calories, 0 grams of fat, 19 grams of sugar and 14 grams of protein. Nothing more to elaborate except the fact that it is really good. I think I mention thick, rich, and creamy a lot for the description of the other flavors already and this flavor is no different.

Here are my final thoughts. I love Chobani non-fat Greek yogurts!! I will be sad when they are gone because I STILL have not found a place that carries these yet. Do they even sell Chobani in SoCal?? The 6 oz cups are the perfect size for a completely satisfying snack. Chobani has a wonderful line of yogurt, their staff are very nice, the yogurts are reasonable priced, and most importantly, they are REALLY good. No amount of advertising/PR work will help if a company has an inferior product. The only thing I hear people complaining about Chobani is that they are not organic. If organic yogurts are your thing, then you should pray that Chobani will add an organic line soon. In the mean time, there will me more Chobani for the rest of us. Hope Chobani becomes more readily available in SoCal soon!! If you can get Chobani where you live and you haven’t tried them yet, I highly suggest that you do. Of course, don’t forget to print out an online coupon from their website.

Retails: $1.49-$1.99 (not sure)
My Cost: Free from PR people
Calories: 100 to 140
WW: 2-3

11 Comments

Filed under Snacks, WW: 2, WW: 3, Yogurt

11 responses to “Chobani Non-Fat Greek Yogurt

  1. Holy Chobani!
    Totally jealous! Great review!

  2. FollowMyWeigh

    i agree- great review!!
    sadly, i can’t get myself to like these. i think i am the only blogger.

  3. OMG! LUCKY LADY! I have pretty much only been able to find the peach flavor and am dying to try the others!! (esp. after your rave reviews!)

  4. great review on the chobani girlie
    have a fantastic day!

  5. greek yogurt ROCKS! I like the plain ones best though…and I usually get Fage.

  6. greek yogurt? i must go to WF to try this

  7. sammyss

    Lucky! Great reviews. I contacted them and tried to score samples, but no response, we don’t get it in Canada :(

  8. Beth

    Hi – just found your blog and I’m enjoying all your reviews. Compared to Fage, I do not really like Chobani, but I did want to tell you that my local (PA) Walmart sells Chobani yogurt so you may want to look there if you have one in your area.

  9. Sorry for pulling up and commenting on such an old post, but I just wanted to let you know (in case you haven’t already found it) that I have purchased Chobani yogurt in SoCal. I got it at the Whole Foods in the Plaza El Segundo shopping complex on Sepulveda just south of Rosecrans.

  10. Pingback: Siggi’s Icelandic Style Skyr « The Skinny Plate

  11. Rachel

    I LOVE Chobani yogurt!! Blueberry and Strawberry are my fav! I don’t care for the pomegranate (spelling?) and haven’t tried the pineapple yet!

Leave a Reply

