Trader Joe’s Grounded Flax Seed with Blueberry

01-09-09_1751I first saw these over at Madison’s blog. I’ve never had ground flax seed before, just whole flax seeds here and there in my cereals and bars.  Blueberry is one of my favorite flavor so I picked this bag up when I saw it. I wanted to enrich my morning oatmeal with some healthy omega-3’s. I don’t want to keep my flax seed lying around, since once it is grounded, it loses its potency pretty quick, so this 7 oz bag is a good size for me. I made my basic oatmeal, added some cinnamon, and a spoonful of flax. This looks like grounded saw dust with tiny bits of blueberries here and there. The blueberry flavor is not very prominent and the taste of the flax is not bad at all. I expected a nuttier flavor in flax seed, but this particular brand is not nutty at all. I stirred it into my oatmeal and it added a nice bulk to it.  Lately I noticed that I’ve been adding a lot of healthy fats to my diet. Creamy avocados, nut butters, healthy nuts, yummy hummus, and now extra flax seeds. I know healthy fats are good, but let’s just hope that I don’t just get plain ‘ol fat from them.

Retails: $3.39 at Trader Joe’s (not sure)
My Cost: $3.39
Calories: 90 per 2 tablespooon
WW: 2 (more like 1.5)

6 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Nuts, Trader Joe's, WW: 2

6 responses to “Trader Joe’s Grounded Flax Seed with Blueberry

  1. FollowMyWeigh

    i actually have never tried this “raw” but now i’m thinking i shouldve to see what it really tasted like.

    i didn’t know this loses its potency once its grounded. i think i’ve had my bag for about 3-4 months now. do you think i should stop eating it??

  2. flaxseeds in my local supermarket are so expensive. ):

    anyway. ive tried those purple potatoes! yummy! (: i still prefer the japanese ones though!

  3. Oh wow, thanks for sharing such a great review!

  4. Madison- I’m no flax seed expert, but I would assume that if you properly stored it in the fridge, it would still be good before the expiration date. I heard direct sunlight and prolonged exposure to air causes the loss of potency. Here is a link for your reference.

    http://www.greatplainsflax.com/flax_seed_info/flax_faq.htm

  5. Thanks for the comment. I have to try flax seeds at some point!

  6. Mary Monzon

    Thanx I actually tried it, and its really taste good, but I dont know where to order , Trader Joe’s doesnt sell it on the website. Could U help me to find where to order it online. Do u sell it?

Leave a Reply

