Trader Joe’s Mediterranean Hummus

medhummusBeing a hummus newbie at Trader Joe, I asked one of  the friendly staff members which one is the most popular/best one. The guy was very enthusiastic, and told me hands down the best hummus here is the Mediterranean Hummus. The hummus was in a clear container, with a little bit of oil, pine nuts, and parsley on top for garnish. The texture is very smooth and creamy and I love the prominent note of lemon juice in it. Soooo delicious! Since this tub is huge, 16 oz, I had to plan my meal  around this because I did not want it to expire on me. The standard two tablespoon is 70 calories, 4 grams of fat, 2 grams of fiber, and 3 grams of protein. A whopping 15 servings in the tub. I had hummus in pita, hummus with veggies, hummus on salad, hummus with chips, hummus in sandwiches,  and the list goes on. The price of the Mediterranean hummus may be double the price as the other TJ hummus, but don’t forget that it is also double in size. I know that hummus is pretty easy to make fresh at home so if I’m entertaining a party, I’ll definitely make some fresh hummus, but if it’s just for myself, I’ll stick to the store bought ones. Next time, I’ll try out the flavored ones.

Retails: $3.99 at Trader Joe’s
My Cost: $3.99
Calories: 70 per 2 tablespoon
WW: 1

6 Comments

Filed under Trader Joe's, WW: 1

6 responses to “Trader Joe’s Mediterranean Hummus

  1. Wow, I love the container toppings! A hummus on salads? Great idea!

  2. Try the cilantro jalapeno one! It’s my favorite, and it is soooo delicious. YUM.

  3. notimetoweight

    I love this hummus! I always saute extra pinenuts to have on hand when the ones on top are gone – they are so good on top!

    The eggplant hummus is really good too esp. on a sandwich…

  4. wow….this looks amazingly good!!

  5. Lou

    does this stuff ever expire? i mean why should it? btw….it says “sell by…” so don’t judge me…i think this stuff might stay good forever.

  6. I think it will last a few days after the “sell by date”, but I don’t think it last forever. I don’t think I would want to eat anything that will last forever, do you?

Leave a Reply

