Snacktrition Health Baked Nuts

01-09-09_1752Big thanks to Lauren over at Snacktrition for sending over these lovely samples. Snacktrition comes in 5 different varieties: calcium smoked almonds, calcium sea salt almonds, fiber salt & pepper cashews, fiber sea salt cashews, and calcium and fiber fruit and nut mix. I didn’t get to try the fiber salt & pepper cashews because I was sent 2 tubs of fiber sea salt cashews. Luckily, the sea salt cashews are my favorite.

Calcium Smoked Almonds: I describe these as raw almonds infused with a smoky flavor that is not overwhelming. These almonds are enriched with calcium. Mmmm… almonds in its natural state, slightly baked, and then infused with a smoky flavor. The smokey flavor is more apparent after a few “chew” into the nut. The salt here is very light and does not make me go water crazy afterward. The packaging for these are amazing. The 9 oz nuts come in a microwaveable and dishwasher safe tub with its own lid. The tub makes it very easy to bring these nuts with you on the go, have a few, and then close it back up. When you are done with the nuts, you can reuse the container for controlled potion snacks, such as cereal, crackers, trail mixes, etc. Nuts are so good at warding off hunger. The tubs contain about 9 servings. 1/4 of a cup is 150 calories, 12 grams of fat, 3 grams of fiber, 5 grams of protein, and about 10% of your daily calcium needs (based on a 2,000 calories diet). The ingredients list is nice and clean: almonds, sea salt, natural smoke flavor, and calcium citrate malate.

Fiber Seas Salt Cashews: Don’t judge a book by it’s cover because these are deceivingly good. From the exterior, these look bland, but these nut are full of flavor. The salt is minimal so you can really taste the true flavor of the cashews. The more I chew, the more cashew flavor came out and it seemed like the flavor changed in my mouth. I took time to enjoyed every cashew that I placed in my mouth (no mindless eating here). I think Snacktrition has rekindled my
love for cashews. Here is the simple ingredients list: cashews, inulin, and sea salt. And here are the stats: 1/4 cup is 160 calories, 12 grams of fat, 3 grams of fiber, 3 grams of protein and 2 grams of sugar. I’m loving this flavor the most.

Calcium Sea Salt Almonds: These taste just like regular raw almonds, but don’t forget that these are calcium enhanced so you are doing your body double goodness by adding these to your diet. A 1/4 cup is 140 calories, 11 grams of fat, 3 grams of fiber, and 5 grams of protein.

Calcium & Fiber Fruit and Nut Mix: I love the mix of almonds, cashew, dried cranberries, dried blueberries and yogurt bits in here. These are a very nice treat. A 1/4 cup is 150 calories, 7 grams of fat, 3 grams of fiber, 15 grams of sugar, and 2 grams of protein. Don’t you think dried fruit and nuts makes a wonderful combo?

Here are my final thoughts. The packaging of the Snacktrition products are great. Makes it very easy for us ladies to keep in our purses, and they won’t leave a mess. My favorite is the Fiber Sea Salt Cashews. I like the idea of enriched health foods. Making something that is good for you even better is a great idea, especially when it is hardly detectable taste-wise.

Retails: $6.99 per 9 oz tub
$3.99 per 3 oz bag
My Cost: Free from PR people
Calories: 140 to 160 per 28 grams
WW: 3 to 4

2 Comments

Filed under Nuts, Snacks, WW: 3, WW: 4

2 responses to “Snacktrition Health Baked Nuts

  1. wow I just LOVE nuts! My friends used to called me nutty girl because I seriously consumed 3 lbs of nuts a day (I’m not exaggerating! I really did, back when I was desperately trying to gain weight)…and almonds and cashews are my fav!
    but I don’t think I’ll pay that much for a small bucket of nuts!

  2. FollowMyWeigh

    wow these sound so interesting! i looooove cashews~

Leave a Reply

