Naturally More Nut Butters w/ Flax Seed

naturallymore2Big thanks to Tim over at Naturally More for sending me some samples. Although a peanut butter lover myself, I rarely purchase any sort of nut butters because one jar can probably last me one whole year. I am deathly afraid of the high fat content so I use them VERY sparingly. Although I know they are good fats, it is just too easy to spread a little too much.

Almond Naturally More: My first almond butter ever. I didn’t know what to expect. When I first opened the jar, there was a huge layer of oil floating on top. I know people are suppose to give it a good stir and then store it in the fridge and eat it like that, but I poured a good amount (not all) of the top oil off. Less oil means less fatty, right? I gave the jar a good stir. The almond butter beyond the top layer was thick and dry, mixed with the top oil, the texture is easily spreadable. The whole jar has whole flax seeds evenly distributed. Besides adding omega-3, the seeds has a very nice nutty flavor. I assume that they toasted the seeds beforehand, because it had a little bit of a crunch to it. The ingredient list is quite simple: almonds, flax seed. wheat germ, dehydrated can juice, and egg white. Nothing artificial, no additives, and no trans fat. One serving size is your standard 2 tablespoons and it has less calories than my normal nut butters. Only 170 calories, 16 grams of fat, 4.1 grams of omega-3, 1.2 grams of omega-6, 4 grams of fiber, 2 grams of sugar, and 9 grams of protein. I was surprised that there was sugar in here because it did not taste sweet at all. My first experience with almond butter is good, but I still prefer the taste of peanut butter over almond butter.

Naturally More: Again, I poured some of the natural oil off and began to stir. I thought it would be as thick the almond butter, but compared to room temperature stable peanut butters, this was pretty thin in consistency. Not runny, but not thick enough to be able to stick to a fork all and have it not run down. The ingredients are simple: roasted peanuts, egg whites, wheat germ, flax seed, flax oil, honey and salt. Two table spoons is 169 calories, 11 grams of fat, 4.1 grams of omega-3, 1.2 grams of omega 6, 130 mg of sodium, 4 grams of fiber, and 10 grams of protein. I don’t know if it’s because I poured some of the oil away, and then refrigerated it, but the peanut butter became really thick and there was no floating layer of oil on top like other natural nut butters. I love the texture even more after refrigeration. So creamy and spreadable. The taste of the peanuts is even more robust than when I first tried it. Very delicious.

Organic Naturally More:  It took my a while to distinguish the difference between the two Naturally Mores. I wondered why I was sent 2 of the same thing, just in different packaging. I finally realized that one is organic and one is not. The ingredients include organic everything: organic peanuts, organic flax seeds, and organic dehydrated cane juice. Two table spoon equals 170 calories, 11 grams of fat, 4.1 grams of omega-3, 1.2 grams of omega-6, 130 mg of sodium, 4 grams of fiber, and 10 grams of protein. Again, way better after I refrigerate it, both taste and texture-wise.

Here are my final thoughts. I love the idea and concept of enhanced natural nut butters. The 2 in 1 combo makes it easy to add flax into your diet. At first, I thought the nut butters did not taste robust enough, but after my pour oil, stir, and refrigerate process, these tasted really good. Love the thick and creaminess when it’s straight from the fridge. Creamy or smooth? With the addition of the whole flax seeds these nut butters are “in between” crunchy and smooth. Smooth nut butter with bits and pieces of toasted, crunchy flax seeds. Overall, I think these are great products for the health conscious eaters out there. You all know what I’m having for lunch tomorrow — peanut butter and jelly sandwich with a chalk full of omega-3.

Retails: $4.49 to $8.49 (not sure)
My Cost: Free from PR people
Calories: 169 to 170 calories per 2 tablespoon
WW: 5

8 Comments

Filed under Nut Butter, Nuts, Organic, Peanuts, WW: 5

8 responses to “Naturally More Nut Butters w/ Flax Seed

  1. it still taste good with all the oils pured off? :o

    mmm wouldnt it be hard to spread?

  2. mmm, I do like my PBs, but never tried almond butter because of the high price. I’ve heard of Naturally More, but I’m not sure I’ll purchase these because of the added sugars.

  3. 8 dollars seems like a lot of money to spend on peanut butter…

  4. FollowMyWeigh

    hey i should do that pour out oil thing too, good idea!

  5. Slaydoll- Yup, the consistency is still spreadable, similar to room temperature stable pb, but a little harder.

    Sophia- Yeah. Almond butter is pretty pricey compared to pb.

    Matt- Almond butter is more pricey than pb in general. I think the pb is only $4.50. It’s the almond butter that is $8 ish. =)

    FollowMyWeight- You should really try that, but some may complain that the consistency will turn out too hard so don’t over do it.

  6. kravda

    Actually, having 2 tbsp of the Naturally More peanut butter without the oils will have more fat and calories. The oil is what makes NM so much lower calorie than your typical natural peanut butter. Without the flaxseed oil, you’re just having a more concentrated peanut butter.

  7. Kim Edmonds

    where can i buy naturally more peanut butter in columbus,ohio

    • Hi Kim,
      I went to the Naturally More Website and it tells me that Naturally More is available at Dave’s Market, Giant Eagle and Wal Mart. Make sure you call before you go looking for it since maybe not all stores carry it. Hope this helps. If not, you can always order it online.

Leave a Reply

