Trader Joe’s Pretzel Slims

01-21-09_1141Mmmm…. pretzel slims. So delicious. This one is the original flavor which is also really good as well. I like the crunchy factor and I don’t feel as disgusted as eating chips. These are like “pretzel-crackers” because it’s ultra-thin and really crunchy. The flatness of it makes it perfect for dipping into salsa, hummus, guacamole, etc., but they are pretty good by themselves or with a cup of tea or coffee. I love how they only have 4 simple ingredients: wheat flour, sugar, salt, and barley malt syrup. One serving is 110 calories for about 23 pretzels, 2 WW, and 1 gram of fiber. Fat free, no artificial colors or flavors, no preservative. Pretty good for a light snack.  Is it just me or do these have an ire resemblance to the Snack Factory Pretzel Crisps? I’ve only tried the Snack Factory Garlic Crisps before and they were absolutly amazing.  They enticing blurb on the back of the bag is similar to what Snack Factory boasts about their product. Also, the BIG clue that makes me about 99.9% sure that these are the same as Snack Factory Pretzels is on the back of the Trader Joe’s bag: “U.S Patent Design D510,172 used under license from the Snack Factory, Inc.”. From my shopping experiences, Trader Joe’s only has the original flavor and the “everything” flavor, so if you are a die hard fan of a certain Snack Factory flavor, you are out of luck right now. I believe that Snack Factory is about $2.99 a bag at Whole Foods, but the Trader Joe’s bag is only $2.19. I love finding out about the Trader Joe’s private label secrets. Do you guys know of any big national brand items that Trader Joe’s sell under their private label? Please leave a comment as I would LOVE to know.

Here is a website that I found that has some speculations of what is what.

TJ  Pita Chips Parmesan, Garlic & Herb ($1.99) = Stacy’s Parmesan Garlic & Herb Pita Chips ($2.99)

TJ Goddess Dressing ($1.99) = Annie’s Natural Goddess Dressing ($3.99)

TJ  Vienna Style Lager ($5.99) = Gordon Biersch Märzen ($9.99)

TJ Indian Fare Punjab Eggplant ($1.99) = Tasty Bite Punjab Eggplant ($2.49)

TJ Very Berry Clusters ($2.69) = Peace Cereal Wild Berry Crisp ($3.99)

Retails: $2.19 for 8 oz bag
My Cost: $2.19
Calories: 110 per 28 gram (23 pretzels)
WW: 2

5 Comments

Filed under Crackers, Snacks, Trader Joe's, WW: 2

5 responses to “Trader Joe’s Pretzel Slims

  1. I love pretzel thins! My favs. are from Harry and David which are pretty expensive…these are SUPER affordable! I’m totally going to try them out!

  2. Mel

    Oh I love those pretzel thins! Thanks for the review, it may be worth it make a trip to Trader Joe’s for these!

  3. I love these so much, however I cannot control myself with them! I end up eating waaaaay too much!

    I agree with you, I think they are the same as Snack Factory and I think TJ’s does private label those brand name items. The price difference is huge, too -TJ’s is much less expensive!

  4. Those look great!! I am definitely going to buy some.

Leave a Reply

