PopChips All Natural

01-19-09_1552Big thanks to Alex over at PopChips for the lovely care package.  Inside the box were 9 single serving size PopChips Baggies. Perfect for bringing along as a snack for lunch. I got all 5 varieties which includes: Original, Salt & Pepper, Sea Salt & Vinegar, Parmesan Garlic, and Barbecue. These chip are never fried and never baked. So how can they make it so crispy, crunchy and so chip-like? “We apply heat and pressure and pop! it’s a chip.” I don’t fully understand the magic of it all, but whatever it is that they do, I like it. These PopChips are yummy and less fatty than normal potato chips, but they do not lack in flavor. The texture of these is sort of like a hybrid of potato chips and rice crackers which is refreshing. I can’t say that these are grease-less because they do use safflower oil, sunflower oil and canola oil on them, but based on the residue left on my fingers and the inside of the chip bag, PopChips are defiantly less greasy than normal potato chips. No preservatives, no artificial flavors or colors, no cholesterol, no saturated fat, and 0 grams trans fat makes me that much less guilty for snacking. I’ve seen the larger bags at Whole Foods for $2.99 and Fresh & Easy for $1.99 ($1.59 when on sale). I haven’t gotten a chance to try all 5 flavors yet, but I did try the Barbecue flavor already and they were very tasty.

Retails: $1.25 at Jamba Juice
My Cost: Free from PR
Calories: 120 calories per 28 grams (about 22 chips)
WW: 3

7 Comments

Filed under Chips, Fresh & Easy, Snacks, WW: 3

7 responses to “PopChips All Natural

  1. Oh, I’ve seen these all over the internet. Wonder if they will come to Canada!

  2. I’ve never seen those before – salt and vinegar would be my fav though!

  3. Oh these look good! I LOVE chips :)

  4. I need to find these…people love em and now you love em and I WANT EM.

  5. Pingback: F&E: Sweet Barbecue Flavored Soy Crisps « The Skinny Plate

  6. Great post! Just wanted to let you know you have a new subscriber- me!

  7. Pingback: PopChips Sour Cream & Onion and Cheddar « The Skinny Plate

Leave a Reply

