Tofu Shirataki Spaghetti Noodles

tofu_shirataki_01I stocked up on these a while back when Mitsuwa was having a sale on these. I have never tried these before, but they ARE Hungry Girl approved so I kind of hoarded a bit too much. The noodles held up pretty well while rinsing and boiling. I DID buy the spaghetti version (they have angel hair and fettuccine too) so I made spaghetti out of it. Everything looked really good, I even sprinkled a little parmesan cheese on top to make it more authentic. Now for the taste test. Maybe I need a better recipe for these noodles because I felt that my dish came out rather bland. The texture of the noodles were a bit wired (a little rubbery) for my taste as well. I had a hard time eating it and gave up 1/3 of the way. T_T to wasted food. Any creative suggestions as to how to make these noodles more flavorful? The stats of these Shirataki Tofu Noodles are unbeatable. Only 20 calories per serving. Each pouch is 2 servings so even if you decide to eat the whole bag, that will only cost you 40 calories. I don’t know what it is about these noodles, but I felt really full after only eating 1/3 of it (I used the entire pouch). Magic noodles? Aside from being one 20 calories per serving, they have 0.5 grams of fat, 2 grams of fiber, and 1 gram of protein. Great substitute for high calorie pasta if you can deal with the taste and texture of these noodles. With stats like these, you can bet I will be giving these another try, after all, I still have 3 bags of it sitting in my fridge. I think I’m going to try a stir fry next. Wish me luck!

Retails: $1.99 at Mitsuwa
My Cost: $0.99 on sale
Calories: 20 calories per serving
WW: 0

12 Comments

Filed under Noodles, WW: 0

12 responses to “Tofu Shirataki Spaghetti Noodles

  1. when I saw you were reviewing this, I was so interested to see what you thought of it! I had tried them before and I just could not get past the texture! I’m not very picky when it comes to food, but these were a no go for me, too!

  2. hmmmm i really want to try these out– but i am kinda nervous about the texture now– I guess I would add really flavorful tomato sauce, the good kind , with lots of veggies and olive oil etc.

    are they only available at asian markets?

  3. bhealthier: I’ve heard from other people that they had luck locating these at Trader Joe’s, Whole Foods, and certain Safeways. I’ve never seen them there myself. Hope you will like them more than I do. ^_^

  4. I love these noodles! I’m a huge fan on Asian food and find the best way to enjoy them is drain them, them make some kind of stir fry (lots of vegetables, soy sauce, ginger) then toss the noodles in and continue to fry until they are hot. They also go very well with spicy Korean red pepper sauce or a miso reduction. I usually add a fried egg in for extra protein!

  5. Jezzy

    This is such deja vu for me! I just tried them maybe an hour or two ago, and had the exact reaction. I had a hard time getting them down, I’d only chew a couple times before forcing them down to my belly, and after less than half of my meal, I was done– and sickly full, even after only eating pancakes and ice cream that day (long story). Mine was fettuccine, so I thought that with smaller noodles, the texture would be much less noticeable, so I plan to stick with it. I’m really hoping to get used to them. …I may have bought a pack of 20 bags. XP

    So if you tried spaghetti, thick alfredo isn’t bad, but there are some drawbacks calorie-wise. I plan to give spaghetti a chance, and something more soupy like Chicken noodle soup. Stir-fry is a very good idea. I was thinking that something more Asian- miso, maybe even ramen- might be good as well.

    I’ve heard that boiling for a few minutes or microwaving for about a minute can help the texture. . . It seemed to do a little, for me.

    • Jezzy: Shirataki noodles is a product that you love or hate. I’ve given them a few good tries, but aside from the taste and texture, I noticed that there is something in there that does not agree with my stomach. As much as I like to love them, I’ve given up on them. Hope your future experiments turn out well.

  6. Pingback: Shirataki Noodles at Nijiya Market « The Skinny Plate

  7. Pingback: Fiber One Key Lime Pie & Strawberry Yogurt « The Skinny Plate

  8. soraya

    I am so disappointed with these noodles…. the texture is revolting and I have yet to find a recipe that can mask the rubber, fishy taste….please let me know if you a good recipe…I bought about 10 bags that are just sitting in my fridge :(

  9. orange triangle

    I first tried the white thin shirataki noodles with red sauce and cheese. It was pretty nasty, and I can eat anything. The texture was slippery. Oh so bad! Then I tried another pack I bought at the same time..but this one had seaweed powder mixed into the noodle which makes it a brownish color. (not made with tofu…just straight shirataki noodles)These were 100% better…and totally edible. Yes..they do have the rubber band thing going on, but they don’t have the slippery texture. Also…I asked a Japanese friend how to prepare them and she suggested using a little mirin and ponzu in a stir fry. I ended up using garlic, ground chicken, mushrooms, thinly sliced zucchini (from my garden!), bean sprouts, water chestnuts, a tablespoon of mirin and some big splashes of ponzu….added to the noodles. I ate this for lunch and it was really good!

Leave a Reply

