YouBars and YouShakes

03-02-09_1708Huge thanks to Anthony over at YouBars for these lovely samples. I love the idea of creating your own bars, customizing the ingredients list to meet your own taste and nutritional needs. These bars don’t have a long shelve life, so don’t hoard if you are not planning on eating them soon. My first bar was the Great Dates with Chocolate which consist of ONLY 4 ingredients: Dates, Whey Protein, Honey and Cocoa. When I first opened the package I noticed that it was kind of soft to the touch so I stored it in the fridge. It came out much better the next day. I like that it became much firmer and less mushy. It tasted really good and not artificial at all. I like the whole combination. The entire bar is 140 calories, 1.5 grams of fat, 4 grams of fiber, 8 grams of protein and 24 grams of sugar. For all you Dates lovers out there, I’m sure you will love this bar. I think it’s a tad on the sweet side so it could do without the honey because the dates are naturally sweet. Don’t forget with YouBars you can customize any way you like. What a great post-workout treat! The “Goodluck” bar had tons of goodies in it as well. It had an almond butter base with organic cacao nibs, organic coffee, and spriulina just to name a few. The combination was very interesting. I don’t think I could have come up with that one myself. As for the YouShakes, they are very convenient and delicious too. I just add some soy milk, a little bit of fruit, some ice plus the package, blend and I have a wonderful and filling shake. I like the convenience of it. My favorite was the Vanilla Dream. So yummy. I think YouBars and YouShakes makes great gifts to anyone that are health conscious. The ingredients are so natural, you can customize and personalize the package with names and messages. Too cute!!

Retails: about $2.99 per bar/shake
My Cost: Free from PR people
Calories: varies
WW: varies

4 Comments

Filed under Bars, Breakfast, Drinks

4 responses to “YouBars and YouShakes

  1. glad you liked the bars! i’ve heard of them before and wanted to try but i thought it was kind of a lot to buy a whole box at once especially with the short shelf life! thanks for the review :)

  2. Wow. Youbars sound really cool! The goodluck one sounds really tasty!

  3. I never heard of those bars before. That’s a great idea!

  4. Love the idea of making your own bars. Only think is they are a little too expensive for me.

Leave a Reply

