Starbucks VIA Instant Coffee

sbuxsI stopped by Starbucks the other day for a little indulgence, Iced Caramel Macchiato,and they were passing out their new VIA instant coffee packets.  They had two flavors, Colombian and Italian Roast. I tried them at home and I was pleasantly surprised that they tasted decent. The Colombian tasted nice and smooth with a hint of nutty taste.  The Italian Roast was very bold and robust. Both tasted great with a dash of soy milk and 1/2 a pack if sugar.With anything Starbucks, it come with a pretty hefty price tag. It comes out to be around $1 per stick. Yikes. No free creamer or sugar either. These are great for you die-hard Starbucks fans out there that don’t mind the price. Only recently have I noticed single serving instant coffee hitting the American market. This trend of instant individual coffee packets is not new in a lot of Asian countries. Check your local Korean supermarkets for a huge variety of single serving coffee packets. They are mostly by Maxim. The individual coffee sticks comes with coffee, sugar and cream inside. Depending on your taste, you can pinch the packet so that less sugar is dispense or less creamer is dispense (kind of hard to explain).  And they come out to be around $0.20 a stick. (Big difference) Have any of you tried the new Starbucks VIA instant coffee yet? What are your thoughts?

Retails: $2.95 for pack of 3
$9.95 for pack of 12
My Cost: Free Sample
Calories: 0
WW: 0

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Starbucks VIA Instant Coffee

  1. I haven’t tried it yet, but I am hoping to give it a go to see how it is.

  2. Cool! I would love to try those! I’ve been “stopping by” Starbucks a little too often lately!

  3. Mia Julia

    They sound expensive. I drink atleast 6 cups of coffee a day and I’m always on the go… But this is too much :\

  4. Marnie Mason

    I think the whole thing is weird. I’m a big fan of Starbucks, but this makes me question them. I thought Starbucks branded themselves as “healthy” & “enviromentally friendly”. Instant coffee?? Is this not going back in time? Isn’t the movement now from “fast food” to “slow food”?? Are we in that much of a rush that we can’t brew a pot of coffee?? Instant coffee is full of chemicals & all the good nutrients have been sucked out of it. I don’t get it!!

Leave a Reply

