PB2

pb2PB2 is a very interesting concept. Removing most of the fat from the peanut butter and reducing it into a powdered form. Great find for those who what to skimp out on some calories and still enjoy the flavor of peanut butter. Adding 1 tablespoon of water to 2 tablespoon of PB2 powder will yield a decent amount of peanut butter and you can adjust the consistency of it by twitching the amount of water you add. There are many ways to use PB2 to create a slightly lower in calories PB flavored treat of your liking. One serving (2 tbsp) has 53.2 calories, 1.87 g of fat, 77.6 g of sodium, 3.4 grams of carbs, .48 grams of fiber, 1.66 grams of sugar, and 5.65 grams of protein. The stats for the chocolate flavored one is pretty similar, just a little lower in sodium and protein. I prefer using PB2 as an ingredient instead of using it like a regular peanut butter spread. I thought it tasted great in my frozen banana smoothie. I also tried it out as a base for my normal peanut butter, as suggested by Marian, and it worked well too. PB2 is very versatile and I would keep some around for baking treats, making sauces, and for smoothies.  I wonder how long it will take for other nut butter varieties to be “defatted” and turned into powdered form? How do you use your PB2?

** Note: PB2 is having a sale online.  Promotion ends April 5, 2009. **

Retails: about $3.99 per jar online (shipping not included)
My Cost: Free Sample Packets
Calories: 53 per 2 tbsp
WW: 1

5 Comments

Filed under Nut Butter, WW: 1

5 responses to “PB2

  1. I’ve seen these around, but I have yet to try them. But they do sound great!

  2. Hooray for PB2. Great recommendation. :)

  3. cleanveggiex3

    thanks for the review :)
    too bad I can’t find it anywhere near me :\

  4. oh i really have wanted to try this pb2 !! thanks for the recomendation!

  5. interesting. I would much prefer the real thing, though. but it should be fun to bake and cook with.

Leave a Reply

