Back to Nature Sunflower Basil Crackers

b2nBack to Nature recently revamped its packaging which caught my attention while I was browsing down the grocery aisles. I admit it, I got it because I thought the packaging was cute. The Sunflower Basil Crackers seemed like an interesting combination.They say that these are, “Crisp, savory crackers with crunchy sunflower kernels and fragrant basil. A touch of olive oil, sea salt and a dash of black pepper helps complete the delicious taste you’ll absolutely love.” The shape of these are a cute sexagon. I could see the basil, the sunflower kernels, and a few grains of salt. I could also smell the basil and the peppery on the crackers. I have to really eat slowly to dissect the all flavors in the cracker and I could swear that I tasted an onion aftertaste in my mouth which was not that pleasant. After checking the ingredients list, sure enough, there was onion powder and garlic powder listed as ingredients. The basil was a nice touch. The texture is nice and crispy and served itself well as a cracker. One serving is about 17 crackers (29g) and has 130 calories, 3 WW, 4.5 grams of fat (0.5 grams Saturated, 0 trans, 0.5 grams PUFA, 3 grams of MUFA), no cholesterol, 270 mg of sodium, 65 mg of potassium, 21 grams of carbohydrates, 1 gram of fiber, 2 grams of sugar, and 2 grams of protein. Although the combination of flavors were interesting and the boost of MUFA with the sunflower oil is a plus, I didn’t really like the combination of flavors. I’ve never had any luck with Back to Nature products. I remember trying their granola which I thought was just alright and their graham cracker sticks which I wasn’t really fond of either. I think I need to go back to my trusty Kashi TLC products.

Retails: $3.00 on sale at Whole Foods
My Cost: $3.00
Calories: 130 per serving
WW: 3

Leave a comment

Filed under Crackers, WW: 3

Leave a Reply

