Living Harvest Hempmilk: Original and Vanilla

03-05-09_1842Living Harvest Hempmilk is my first experience with hemp milk. I didn’t know what to expect. After trying the Original Hempmilk straight, I thought the consistency was more thin and watery compared to my milk and soy milk. Seems like there are tons of options for milk out there now-a-days. Soy milk, almond milk, rice milk, oat milk, just to name a few. Living Harvest Hempmilk is jam packed with omega-3, 6, vitamin A, calcium, magnesium, vitamin E, riboflavin, folic acid, phosphorous, iron and zinc. The taste was light and smooth with a nutty after-taste from the hemp seeds. I was surprised to see that one cup contained 14 grams of sugar since I did not think it tasted all the sweet. Milk is usually an ingredient to the food and drinks I make since I don’t gulp it down by the glass. When I added the Living Harvest hemp milk in my coffee, it seemed like there is separation, like miso soup. Same thing when I added it into my oats and it didn’t make it as creamy as adding soy or skim milk. I enjoyed it most when I added it into my smoothies. The vitamins and minerals hemp milk has to offer is great. One cup is 130 calories, 3 WW but already contains:

800 mg Omega-3 with SDA
2600 mg of Omega-6 with GLA
All 10 essential amino acids
4 grams of digestible protein
vitamins A, B12, D, E Riboflavin & Folic Acid
Magnesium, Potassium, Phosphorous, Iron & Zinc
40% daily value of calcium

The Vanilla Hempmilk is similar to the original one, but it had a slight hint of vanilla bean flavor and it was pleasant. One cup is also 130 calories, 3 WW, 4 grams of fat (0.5 saturated),  zero cholesterol, 130 milligram of sodium, 20 grams of carbohydrates, <1 gram of dietary fiber, 16 grams of sugar, and 4 grams of protein. Aside from the Original and Vanilla flavor, Living Harvest also offers unsweetened versions of those as well. For you chocolate lovers out there, Living Harvest has you covered too. Overall, I think Living Harvest’s line of hemp milks are high quality products that would benefit those who have dairy, soy or any tree-nut allergens  or those who just like the loaded nutritional benefits of hempmilk . Also, these are vegan, gluten free, kosher, trans fat and cholesterol free.

Retails: $3.69 at Whole Foods
My Cost: Free
Calories: 130 per cup
WW: 3

5 Comments

Filed under Drinks, Milk, WW: 3

5 responses to “Living Harvest Hempmilk: Original and Vanilla

  1. Thanks for the review! I’ve never tried Hempmilk before.

  2. I haven’t tried hemp milk, but I might try to find some now!

  3. Hmmm… that sounds interesting. I have seen it in the store and wondered how it would taste!

  4. I have never tried hemp milk, but my neighbor was just talking about it the other day and loves it. I drink soy, so now I am going to give this a shot. Thanks for the review.

  5. I haven’t tried hemp milk, but I’ve wanted to — thanks for the review! ;)

Leave a Reply

