La Tortilla Factory: Tomato Basil and Whole Grain Rye Soft Wraps

tomatobasil Ever since I was introduced to La Tortilla Factory wraps by all you foodies out there, I’ve been a little obsessed. Last time at Walmart I spotted the Low Carb Garlic & Herb variety, but recently I found the larger wraps at Pavilions. I immediately picked up the Tomato Basil and Whole Grain Rye. I thought that since the rye is just rye and not “flavored”, like tomato basil or garlic & herb that it would taste bland. So glad I was wrong because the rye wraps are  very good with little embedded grains/seed in them. The tomato basil flavor is amazing as well. I can see the basil and tomato  all over the wrap. The taste is delicate and subtle which complements instead of over power the flavors of your wrap. Did I mention that these soft wraps are HUGE. I can pack a whole lot of fresh veggies and salsa into it. Usually my wraps turn out gigantic and sometimes I have a hard time finishing it. The texture of the wraps is very soft, pliable and not too thick at all. No breakage even when I overstuff the wrap 99% of the time.  Packed with so much whole grain, fiber and protein, my wraps are super filling. I’ve been noshing on a wrap a day for the past week.  So simple, healthy and satisfying. I even got my family hooked on these and we create so many different wraps depending on what we have in the fridge. The expiration dates on the wraps are pretty generous, so I stock up when they go on sale.  At Pavilions/Vons, they are currently on sale for $2.99 until May 5, 2009. What a deal, compared to the normal $4.89 a pack. Needless to say, I am stocked up for a while. I heart La Tortilla Factory. I am excited to try out their other flavors, especially the Rosemary one which I can’t seem to locate anywhere.  T_T Here at the STELLAR stats:

Tomato Basil: One wrap is 100 calories, 1 WW, 3 grams of fat (no saturated, no trans, 2 gram MUFA), no cholesterol, 360 milligram of sodium, 20 grams of carbohydrates, 12 grams of dietary fiber, 1 gram of sugar and 9 grams of protein.

Whole Grain Rye: One wrap is 90 calories, 1 WW, 3 grams of fat (no saturated, no trans, 1.5 gram MUFA), no cholesterol, 340 milligram of sodium, 20 grams of carbohydrates, 13 grams of dietary fiber, 1 gram of sugar and 8 grams of protein.

Retails: $4.89 per pack @ Pavilions
My Cost: $2.99 on sale
Calories: 90 to 100 each
WW: 1

5 Comments

Filed under Wraps, WW: 1

5 responses to “La Tortilla Factory: Tomato Basil and Whole Grain Rye Soft Wraps

  1. I LOVE these wraps! They’re the best! I’ll have to pick up the rye flavor though, haven’t had that one yet.

  2. I love these, too! I could never imagine being without them!

  3. Oh wow, these sound great!

  4. i have been buying the smaller, 50 cal size but i definitely want to try these!!! thanks for the review. rye ones sound delish :)

  5. Pingback: Flatout Healthy Grain Multigrain « The Skinny Plate

Leave a Reply

