Applegate Farms Gluten-Free Chicken Nuggets

applegatenuggets1Applegate Farms came out with a new gluten-free, casein-free and dairy-free chicken nuggets. Their chickens are raised antibiotic free, as well as fed a vegetarian diet. The breading on the nuggets are actually comprised of rice and corn flour — not wheat flour. I followed the directions for reheating in the microwave, paper towel on bottom, heat 1/2 way, flip, and continue heating. After I was done, the paper towel soaked up a lot of oily residue that was seeping from the nuggets. For a more appealing effect, I should have baked them in the oven instead. When I did the taste test, I had to do a double take on the box to make sure I was really eating chicken and not some imitation meat. The inside of the nugget look brownish and the texture is different from any nuggets I’ve ever had. The texture is like pureed meat put back into a nugget form. The size of each nugget is pretty small, slightly larger than a half-dollar coin. One serving of 7 pieces is 170 calories, 4 WW, 9 grams of fat,(1.5 grams saturated), 35 milligram of cholesterol, 350 milligram of sodium, no fiber, no sugar, and 12 grams of protein. To be honest, I’ve never heard of Applegate Farms, but after reading the information on the box I know why. They don’t spend a lot of money on advertisement and rely on word of mouth to spread the word about their products. I like that philosophy in a company. If they have a good product, people will talk about it and recommend them to friends and family. This shows how confident Applegate Farms has in their products. Check out “our story” page to find out how wholesome this company is. Although I did not particularly enjoy the gluten-free nuggets, I am so glad I found out about this company. I really look forward picking up some other Applegate Farms products at Whole Foods next time. Browsing through their website, they have convinced me that they only serve the best to their customers.

Snippets from their “Promise Page

– animals are never given antibiotic
– livestock are given vegetarian diet with no animal by products.
– no hormones or artificial growth promotants
– all products are all natural and organic
– minimally processed
– products never contain artificial nitrates or nitrites
– deli meat, hot dogs, burgers, and bacon are gluten and casein free
– no mystery meat (products are made from organic whole muscle meat)

Retails: $5.99 @ Whole Foods (8 oz box)
My Cost: Free
Calories: 170 per 7 pieces
WW: 4

3 Comments

Filed under Appetizer, Frozen Food, Organic, WW: 4

3 responses to “Applegate Farms Gluten-Free Chicken Nuggets

  1. Thanks for sharing, they sound great!

  2. Ooo…I’ve seen their sausages at Trader Joe’s. I might have to go buy me some!

  3. I’m def checking this out. I love the usage of rice and corn flour!

Leave a Reply

