Simply Scrumptous Fat Free Cookies, Muffins & Donuts

04-24-09_1740Simply Scruptous sent over a lovely Fit and Flavorful fat free sampler over. I immediately stuck everything in the freezer since I know these will be a treat rather than an everyday food item. Most of the items defrosted really well with just a little microwaving. Check out the nutritional information on their website. The sampler box included an array of donuts, muffins and cookies. I really like how everything is individually wrapped, so I can just grab them from the freezer and take it with me.

For the donuts, I let them thaw by  itself in the fridge for a bit. The texture was still good and I like how the donut were still cold when I dug into it. The size of each donut is a decent 3-1/2″ in diameter which is really good for a 1 point WW treat. Never knew donuts could keep so well in the freezer. The freezer is my new best friend. Simply Scrumptous has so many great all time favorite flavors to choose from: Chocolate Covered Sprinkles, Chocolate Covered, Cinnamon Glazed, White Glazed, Glazed Sprinkles and Powered Sugar. Can you believe that they are only 73 calories and 3 grams of fiber? Both taste and texture is good, my only complaint is that they are on the sweet side with 12 grams of sugar in each donut. When I am in the mood for some sweets, these really come in handy.

The size of each muffin is about 3″ in diameter and 1.5″ tall which come out to be 1/2 the size of my fist, but they are very satisfying for a 1-2 point WW treat. The muffins range from 84 calories to 126 calories with 4-5 grams of fiber in each. They have great flavors like Blueberry bliss, Crazy for Chocolate, Cinnamon Raisin, Banana-rama and Luscious Lemon poppy seed to choose from. I like the Banana-rama the best. It has really good banana flavor and banana chunks on the top of the muffin.  The Blueberry Bliss was a close second. The texture of the muffins are not as soft as the bakery shop ones that are baked with undisclosed amounts of butter and shortening, but these are still good muffins that goes well with a cup of coffee in the morning. When reheating with the microwave, do it in small intervals. The texture becomes hard and doughy if you over heat (I learned that the hard way.)

The cookies are 3.5″ in diameter and fits completely inside the palm of my hands. I left the Oh La La Oatmeal Raisin cookie out in the fridge to defrost, but never got around eating it until the next day. I wanted to just eat it as-is, but the hard texture made it difficult. The texture became softer after I microwaved it for 10seconds. The raisins were nice and plump, but overall I did not like the texture of the  Oatmeal Raisin cookie and it was overly sweet. The Sensational Sugar cookie and the Double Fudge Chocolate cookies defrosted well on its own and still retain good cookie texture. The cookies range from  69 to 76 calories with 3-4 grams of fiber.

Overall, I liked the line of Fat Free product Simply Scrumptous has to offer as a once in a while treat. They store well in the freezer, convenient for grab and go, all fat free with a nice touch of fiber, and are only made with a handful of ingredients with no additives or artificial flavors. Treat them as once in a while treats, and they will last you a long time. They even make wonderful gift baskets and dessert towers which I think makes for a perfect gift for those who are on Weight Watchers.

Retail: $10.95 @ Simply Scrumptous
My Cost: Free
Calories: Cookies: 69 to 76 calories each
Donuts: 73 calories each
Muffins: 84 to 126 calories each
WW: 1-2

3 Comments

Filed under Cookies, Donuts, Muffin, WW: 1, WW: 2

3 responses to “Simply Scrumptous Fat Free Cookies, Muffins & Donuts

  1. Those sounds like a great treat! Thanks for the review!

  2. Mike

    I tried few times they are sampler , but I don’t like it.
    No flavors and taste like plastic bag. They individually wrapped by cheep plastic bags.
    Really disappointed,customer service was horrible too ;( I DON’T RECOMMEND IT :(

Leave a Reply

