Guauaki Yerba Mate Organic Greener Green Tea

GuauakiGreenTeaAfter the gym, I went to Fresh & Easy with nothing in particular in mind. Just decided to do a little browsing. So glad that I did. You never know what kind of good deal you can find at that store. I spotted a lot of teas on sale so I picked up a few to try.  Guayaki Yerba Mate Organic Greener Green tea. I am always up for trying new teas, and since these are originally $3.99 marked down to $0.99, I had to try it. Plus, these are USDA certified organic, kosher, and a member of the fair trade federation. At first I thought I was just getting another type of green tea and that “yerba mate” was just part of the company’s name. It tasted a little off, unlike any pure green tea I’ve ever tried so I decided to look it up. With a little googling, I found out that yerba mate is actually a beverage made from the leaves and stems of a powerful rain forest tree. Pleasantly surprised that I picked up a “super tea.” Yerba mate is naturally caffeinated and the chemical components are similar to green tea, but yerba mate is more nutritious in some ways and is suppose to help boost energy, headache relief, asthma, allergies, weight loss, coffee alternative, and digestion. The tea smells herbaly and even taste herbaly, but not terribly bad.  I think the green tea blend soothes out the herbal taste a bit. I love the health benefits so I will have to continue to try this out. Guauaki Yerba mate products have got tons of magazine press and online testimonies. I am currently suffering from poor digestion so will give this tea a good try. Although yerba mate is harvested from the rain forest, Guauaki is following a market driven restoration business model. Learn more about it here. If you are interested in this, go to your local F&E now. One sale for $0.99 because it is being discontinued at the store. The Guauaki Yerba mate Pure Empower Mint on clearance as well. If you check out their website, you will know that they cost $6.95 online. Yikes!

Retails: $3.99 at Fresh & Easy
My Cost: on sale $0.99 (about the be discontinued)
Calories: 5 per tea bag
WW: 0

3 Comments

Filed under Drinks, Fresh & Easy, Organic, Tea, WW: 0

3 responses to “Guauaki Yerba Mate Organic Greener Green Tea

  1. mm green tea is my favorite – thanks for the info, girl!

  2. Yeah, I love green tea too. I should try it out.

  3. You should also try the Mate ChocoLatte
    with a splash of soy milk and a dash of stevia it cant be beat
    the Pure Empower Mint is also good with the same mix
    I live on and love tea

Leave a Reply

