Better Whey of Life Non-fat Yogurt

Better%20Whey%20Of%20LifeBetter Whey of Life is such a cute name for this product! The play on words is cute. Better Whey of life offers 5 flavors, plain, peach mango, french vanilla, acai mix berry, and strawberry banana. All of them are enhanced with whey protein, contains 30% less sugar than regular yogurts, contains FIBER, probiotics, and made with nonfat milk w/ no added growth hormones. I had the pleasure of trying out 2 of the flavors.

French Vanilla: Since this is a non-Greek yogurt, I expected it to be watery and runny. I was pleasantly surprised that it was thicker than I expected, but not as thick as normal Greek yogurt. The vanilla flavor tasted natural, which I like, and the yogurt has a tart and tangy taste. One 6 oz cup is 145 calories, 2 WW, 0.5 grams of fat, 5 milligram of cholesterol, 80 milligram of sodium, 28 grams of carbohydrates, 3 grams of fiber, 14 grams of sugar, and 15 grams of protein. The protein content in here is 3x as much as normal yogurts, but about the same  as Greek yogurt. Compared to traditional sugary yogurts, Better Whey of Life has 2/3 the amount of sugar which is a plus by my standards, but some may complain that the yogurt taste too tart. Fiber in yogurt is rare to comeby so kudos to them!!

Strawberry Banana: Taste like a tart and tangy strawberry banana smoothie. I ate this on top of a Kashi blueberry waffle along with some frozen fruits. It was a very delicious and filling breakfast that lasted me a good couple of hours. Taste great by itself so I can only imagine how great and filling it would be if I incorporate this in a smoothie or freeze and make my own fro-yo. The nutritional facts are pretty much the same for all the flavored varieties. The plain variety has a little less sugar and calories and a little higher in the protein department.

I think Better Whey of Life is a great way to incorporate protein in your diet if it is lacking. I can see myself eating this post workout to help build my lean muscles instead of busting out the blender to make a protein shake since it is a pain to clean. As a breakfast item, mixed with high fiber cereal and fruits galore or on top of a Kashi waffle with fruits, it keeps me full for a long time. Great staying power. Love the high protein, fiber, and less sugar content of Better Whey of Life yogurts. My only complaint is that the expiration date on the cups smudge and wipes of very easily. One of the yogurts I picked up had the expiration date rubbed off completely and my other one had a partial rub off, but I could see it expires in June, so it was safe to eat. Plus, I got this at Whole Foods which I trust whole-heartily. Check out their website for $2.00 off 3 coupon. With the coupon, it comes out to be around $1.00 per 6 oz cup which is not too shabby if you want to try it out. If you find that the taste is too tart for you, don’t let a good thing go to waste, dump it into a blender with some naturally sweet fruits and make yourself a protein packed smoothie.

Retails: $1.69 @ Whole Foods
My Cost: Free w/ Coupon
Calories: 130 to 145 per 6 oz cup
WW: 2

2 Comments

Filed under Dessert, Whole Foods, WW: 2, Yogurt

2 responses to “Better Whey of Life Non-fat Yogurt

  1. i just checked out the website – this stuff looks awesome! 15g of protein? amazing! iwish i had a whole foods around me so i could buy it :(

  2. Speaking of loving the name of my yogurt, Better Whey of Life, I love the name of your blog! Thanks so much for the review. I always learn something new and I will take your feedback to our plant regarding the smudge factor. We will see if there is anything we can do in the short term; and we will look to change in the long term.

    I’m so glad you liked the yogurt and will eat it post-workout. That (and for breakfast) is exactly how I eat it too!

    Keep the feedback coming!
    Daphne
    CEO, Better Whey of Life
    Twitter @proteingirl

Leave a Reply

