Trader Joe’s Egg White Salad with Chives

05-19-09_2008Trader Joe’s egg white salad with chives. The whole tub is only 100 calories!! Makes for a wonderful low calorie dip and spread for sandwiches. Pretty pricey for what it is, but worth it for the convenience. I spread 2 tablespoons on a piece of whole wheat bread, some hot Dijon mustard, a little bit of alfalfa sprouts and a couple slices of smoked salmon and made myself a scrumptious, waistline friendly lunch. Delicious. I love putting this egg white salad in my La Tortilla wraps too!!  The egg salad by itself is a little on the bland side, but if it is used in a component in a sandwich or wrap, the mustard I add gives the egg white salad a huge boost in flavor. Another thing I like to do is add a little tabasco sauce in it if I am using this as a dip for chips or flat breads. Let’s see if I can make a budget friendlier version at home. The ingredients on the back is simple enough that I am semi confident that I can recreate this at home. Now that I have my Nordic ware Microwave Egg Cooker, making hard-boiled eggs is a sintch. One serving is 1/2 the tub and it has 50 calories, 1 WW, 2 grams of fat, 300 milligram of sodium, 2 grams of carbohydrates,  no fiber and 7 grams of protein. Trader Joe’s also has the Egg Salad in the Spicy Ranchero variety that has similar nutritional facts. Can’t wait to try that one out next time.  BTW, did you guys know that the FDA put out a warning of salmonella contamination on alfalfa sprouts late April 2009? I had no idea and just ate a ton of it raw BEFORE I found out. Oh well, I’m still kicking. Just to be safe, after I finish this batch I will be sproutless for a while.

Retails: $2.69 at Trader Joe’s
My Cost: $2.69
Calories: 50 calories per 1/2 tub
WW: 1

7 Comments

Filed under Appetizer, Salad, Trader Joe's, WW: 1

7 responses to “Trader Joe’s Egg White Salad with Chives

  1. what a perfect quick and delish meal .. blah, i need to find a trader joe’s NOW.

  2. That sounds wonderful! I’ll have to look for it at my TJs :)

  3. I’ve never seen these before! they sound so interesting…but I’m too cheap!

  4. i love this stuff for the occasional treat! it’s great because all you need is bread or crackers and you can eat the whole container as a meal :)

  5. wow that stuff looks great! thanks for the reccomendation

  6. What a great POINT friendly find! I love the idea of putting it with the smoked salmon – yum!

  7. dishin

    Yum! This looks good. I’ll have to look for it when I’m at Trader Joe’s. I also love that they sell hard boiled eggs already peeled. So convenient!

Leave a Reply

