Zen Bakery Carrot Cake Muffins & Blueberry Mango Cranberry Bran Muffins

carrotcakemufZen Bakery makes awesome high fiber bran cakes and muffins. I have only tried the blueberry bran cakes and avoided the muffins since they don’t have the same about of fiber. Someone brought home some Zen Bakery Carrot Muffin from Whole Foods and I fell in LOVE. These are HUGE muffins that are moist, delicious and full of flavor. These muffins looks like they are the 500 to 600 calories types, but the entire muffin is only 220 calories which isn’t so bad considering the size of it. One serving is only 1/2 the muffin, but it does a good job keeping me satisfied as long as I drink a big cup of water with it. The fiber content is only 3 grams, but I love the taste of texture of Zen Bakery’s muffins over the bran cakes which can be too dense at times. One serving of 1/2 a muffin is 110 calories, 2 WW, 1.5 grams of fat, no cholesterol, 160 milligram of sodium, 3 grams of fiber, 6 grams of sugar and 3 grams of protein. In my attempt to recreate the Zen Bakery muffins, I came across a few websites, but they all attempted to recreate the bran cakes, and not the muffins. With a little trial and error, I hope I can create delicious Zen Bakery-like high fiber, low calorie muffins at home. Please e-mail me if you have a psudo-Zen Bakery muffin recipe. I’d love to try it out! On my recent Trader Joe’s trip, I also picked up the Zen Bakery  Blueberry Mango Cranberry Bran Muffins to try out. These bran muffins are not as moist and are more dense than the the Carrot Cake Muffins, but they are delicious and keeps me super full with 5 grams of fiber per 1/2 a muffin. I noticed that the posted nutritional facts are a little different from the nutritional facts on the package. Hope Zen Bakery updates their website soon. According to the website, one serving of 1/2 a muffin is 110 calories, 2 WW, 2.5 grams of fat, zero cholesterol, 210 milligram of sodium, 19 grams of carbohydrates, 5 grams of dietary fiber, 8 grams of sugar, and 3 grams of protein. On the package it said 6 grams of fiber. I feel so happy when I get to eat this gigantic muffin for breakfast for only 220 calories and it keeps me full until lunch time.

If you only shop for Zen Bakery exclusively at Trader Joe’s, then you my friend, are missing out on a whole lot of other goodies Zen Bakery cranks out. Did you know that Zen bakery makes scones, oatmeal cookies, cinnamon raisin rolls, and PB carbo chocolate chip cookies as well? Although their stats are not as great as the muffins and bran cakes, they are still better than normal coffee shop and bakery counterparts.

P.S: Keep them in the fridge if you don’t want them to go moldy on you.

Retails: $5.99 @ Whole Foods
$4.49 @ Trader Joe’s
My Cost: $5.99 & $4.49
Calories: 110 per 1/2 muffin
WW: 2

12 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Muffin, Trader Joe's, Whole Foods, WW: 2

12 responses to “Zen Bakery Carrot Cake Muffins & Blueberry Mango Cranberry Bran Muffins

  1. I’ve never even heard of Zen Bakery! I’ll have to keep my eyes peeled the next time I’m at TJ’s (tomorrow! First time in years!)

    • Just look for it in the bakery section. TJ’s repackaged them so it doesn’t say Zen Bakery on it anymore, but for my store, the price tag still says Zen Bakery. Also, if you check out Zen Bakery’s website, it says that they are available at TJ’s. Good luck finding them.

  2. m’mm muffins.. my favorite :) sound delish! no TJ’s for me though so i’ll have to stick to my vitas for now!

  3. I have looked all over for these dang muffins but they are no where to be found! They sound so good!!

    • Hey K,
      They really do have Zen Bakery muffins and fiber cakes at TJ’s. It use to have the Zen Bakery label on it, but TJ’s repackaged them so it no longer says Zen Bakery on the package. If you look at the price tag sign, it should say Zen Bakery on it (at least at my store it does). Hope this helps. They are really good and very filling in my opinion.

      • Hmmm….I think I have seen them now that you tell me this because I recognize some of the varieties of muffins Zen Bakery sells. TJs is so sneaky with the relabeling! Thanks for the info :)

  4. Shauna

    I love those muffins, but you should know that they aren’t really 220 calories per muffin because each muffin weighs more 25% more than it should. I have a digital food scale and I weighed them…shocking. And it wasn’t just a fluke, each one was that much bigger. So each whole muffin is really 275 calories. Not a huge difference, but it might matter to you.

  5. Yummy! A mango muffin?? Sounds amazing!

  6. omg I loveeee Zen Bakery muffins! They have rockin’ whole wheat cinnamon raisin rolls too!

  7. Nicole

    MMmm, I’ve tried the blueberry bran and I really like them! I hope I can find the carrot cake ones!

  8. Pingback: Chobani Greek Yogurt Pineapple & Pomegranate « The Skinny Plate

Leave a Reply

