Musselman’s Healthy Picks Applesauce

Healthy Picks Group ImageAs a child growing up, I was never a huge fan of applesauce. When I hear applesauce, my mind drifts back to the memories of hairnet-wearing lunch ladies scooping the mushy glob onto my flimsy plastic plate (whether I like it or not). It was the school’s way of getting fruits into our diet. To make matters worst, the applesauce wasn’t even cold after sitting in out for god-knows-how-long. Can you say scarred for life? As I grew older, although I do not enjoy applesauce by itself, I have enjoyed the wonders of how it makes my baked goods moist and delicious without having to add oil and butter. The kind people over at Musselman sent me a Christmas type package, with red confetti and all,  that contained their newest Healthy Picks line of applesauce. The three flavors include: Key Lime Cupuacu, Blueberry Pomegranate, and Raspberry Acai.

Here are some of the great benefits of tossing a cup of this new apple sauce into your purse or gym bag:

  • It’s made with antioxidant-rich super fruits.
  • It’s a good source of fiber, calcium and vitamin C.
  • It has no added sugar.
  • It has no artificial colors or flavors.
  • It’s great on the go since it doesn’t need to be refrigerated

Since I do have bad memories of eating applesauce, aside from baking with them, I stick some in the freezer to make a slushy treat, leave it in the freezer for longer and you have yourself an“applesauce popsicle” in a cup. Lovely in baked goods and delicious as a frozen treat. One 4 oz cup is only 70 calories, 2 WW, zero fat, zero cholesterol, 10 milligram of sodium, 17 grams of carbohydrates, 3 grams of fiber, 10 to 11 grams of sugar and no protein. Check out Musselman’s website for an awesome coupon.

Retails: MSRP $1.99
My Cost: Free
Calories: 70 per 4 oz cup
WW: 1

2 Comments

Filed under Dessert, Fruits, Snacks, WW: 1

2 responses to “Musselman’s Healthy Picks Applesauce

  1. Bec

    an apple sauce Popsicle is such a brilliant idea!!!

  2. Pingback: Giveaway: Musselman’s Healthy Picks Applesauce « The Skinny Plate

Leave a Reply

