Western Baking Company Healthy Grains Perfect 10 Bagel

Perfect BagelWestern Baking Company’s Healthy Grains Perfect 10 bagels have always been on my “to try list”, but for some reason, I kind of forgot all about it until Kate over at Cooking with Kate bombarded me with pictures of her perfect bagel slathered with delicious jam and peanut butter. One reason why these Perfect 10 bagels slipped my mind is that I figured I could always “scoop out” my bagel or eat only 1/2 a regular bagel and that would result to about the same calories count as these Perfect 10 bagels. What I did not know was that these bagels are special because they only have 10 grams of net carbs (not that I am a carb counter) 9 grams of fiber and 18 grams of protein!! (Thanks Kate for pointing this out.) I made a conscious effort to pick some up this week. Packed with so much fiber and protein, these bagels are really filling. The diameter of these bagels is about 5 inches which makes these a good size bagel. The taste is soft and chewy, but they are not particularly delicious bagels. With 370 milligrams of sodium, I find these almost unbearably salty. I was like a fish out of water after eating this with a wedge of laughing cow cheese. Also, these bagels have sucralose in it which is something I try to avoid in my foods. The next day I toasted one up and put peanut butter and jelly on it. Ahhh… much better. The peanut butter and jelly actually covered up the salty flavor in the bagel so I was able to enjoy it more. But still, afterward, I found myself gulping down a gallon of water. Quickly browsing through Western Baking Company’s website, although they lower in calories, high in fiber and protein than regular bagels, pita breads, English muffins, they do not skimp on the sodium.

Retails: $3.49 @ Ralphs for pack of 6
My Cost: $2.99 on sale
Calories: 140 calories each
WW: 2

5 Comments

Filed under Bagel, Bread, WW: 2

5 responses to “Western Baking Company Healthy Grains Perfect 10 Bagel

  1. mmm i live for bagels! especially paired with my beloved PB! they sound really great aside from the sodium content

  2. I wish I could get my hands on those here on the East Coast! I love the Western Alternative Bagels and I used to find them in my local Giant but, no more. I may have to cave and order some along with these Perfect 10!

  3. omg i’ve wanted to try those for so long but we dont have them in FL! I’ve tried their other ones and they’re great! We should do a tradesie =)

  4. im so glad u tried these but im sorry they were so salty for ya!!! i am seriously madly in love with salt and i’ve never once noticed that they are particularly salty. oops :)

  5. Pingback: The Alternative Pita Bread « The Skinny Plate

Leave a Reply

