Oh Nuts! Turkish Pistachios, Medjool Dates, & Chocolate Drizzled Pecans

06-19-09_1335Oh Nuts offers a huge variety of nuts, candy, chocolates , dried fruits and with over 2,000 varieties to choose from Oh Nuts is an online foodie heaven. Order in bulk and you get wholesale prices too. Perfect for those of you who like to make your own peanut and almond butters. I got to pick 3 items I wanted to try out the most. My head was spinning from all the choices to choose from, but I knew I wanted to try some delicious Medjool Dates since I’ve seen them on the blogging world so much and I’ve never had the pleasure of trying them myself. After a LONG deliberation with myself, I finally ended up choosing: California Medjool Dates, Turkish Antep Pistachios, and Chocolate & Caramel Drizzled Pecan Clusters.

Turkish Antep Pistachios: Don’t worry, I checked the recall list and Oh Nuts’ pistachio is not part of the recall. Pistachio and pistachio flavored anything are usually a hit for me. If you have never tried pistachio gelato, you HAVE to try it. One of my favorite frozen treats. Yum. I never knew there were so many different kinds of pistachios until I visited Oh Nuts. Turkish Antep Pistachios? Salted Israeli Pistachios? Shows how much I know about my nuts. I am clueless over here. Some people value flavor above all else. Those people will love our top-quality, Turkish pistachios. Smaller and less open than California-grown pistachios, Turkish pistachios feature a richer, more distinctive taste. Consider these the Rolls Royce of Pistachios. Rolls Royce of pistachios? Well, I have to try it or else I can’t call myself a pistachio lover, right? Indeed, these Turkish antep pistachio are less open and smaller than normal California pistachios. It made it harder to get into. The appearance of it is slightly darker as well. You can’t judge a book by it’s cover because although they do not look as appealing they are delicious. Slightly salted, but not overly so which made the true flavor of the pistachio shine through. The flavor is very rich and buttery. Oh, and I make sure I take the skin off the pistachio because when it mixes in your mouth, it takes away from the real flavor of the nut. Although the flavor is good, I still prefer the larger California pistachios because I get more satisfaction eating the bigger nuts AND I don’t have to break my nails trying to get into them. Ouch! One ounce (28g) is 170 calories, 5 WW, 13 grams of fat (1 gram saturated), zero cholesterol, 190 milligram of sodium, 9 grams of carbohydrates, 3 grams of fiber, 2 grams of sugar, and 6 grams of protein. Simple ingredient list of just pistachio and salt is a plus. No nasty oils or preservative. This is the kind of filling snackage I’m talking about. Not bad for $6.99 a pound.

California Medjool Dates: The only experience I’ve had with medjool dates is in the bone based soup my mommy makes. This may sound weird to some of you, but my family has been using medjool dates in soups for ages. Then all of a sudden, medjool dates got popular and the prices started to soar. The soup kind (dried and not sticky) and the snacking kind ( moist and sticky) are different so it wasn’t like I could start popping medjool dates from my mom’s cabinet into my mouth. Naturally, I was super excited to try out the REAL snacking medjool dates. These babies are huge. No wonder 2 of them is already 140 calories. I actually measure it and it was about 5 inches long, 1 inch wide and 1/2 inch tall. One big satisfying, uber sweet date. With peanut butter in the middle, it was better than going out on a real date. Grown in sunny California, the brown and saccharine date is probably man’s oldest cultivated fruit. There are many grades of Medjool dates: Jumbo Medjool Dates are the largest, sweetest, juiciest and are the cream of the crop. Only 5% of the entire crop makes this grade. Large Medjool Dates grade are the same quality, delightfully sweet and moist as the jumbos, only smaller size. Extra Fancy grade dates contains mixed sizes of fruit. These dates may have minor skin imperfections and will have some loose or broken skin. They are still very good but didn’t make the Jumbo or Large grade. Any of these dates can be used for cooking, baking and snacking. 20-21 PIECES IN 1LB. Can’t imagine how much bigger a jumbo medjool date can get, these are already very big in my opinion. Dates checked, nuts, checked, homemade Larabar here I come!! At $6.99 a pound, these are not a bad deal. I’ve seen them go for more expensive. Two dates is 140 calories, 2 WW, no fat, no cholesterol, 10 milligram of sodium, 36 grams of carbohydrates, 3 grams of fiber, 29 grams of sugar, and 1 gram of protein. Ingredient list: just medjool dates.

Pecan Clusters (Dark Chocolate & Caramel Drizzled): With so many temptations on Oh Nuts, I had to splurge on something. Fresh Roasted Pecans clustered in a Delicious gooey caramel glaze drizzled with the highest quality dark chocolate. These dark chocolate drizzled pecans looked so heavenly on the website. The package came, in a clear plastic tub, Oh Nuts marked, and wrapped in plastic. I was disappointed that there is no nutritional information on the package or on the website, but I ate it anyways. Gooey caramel and dark chocolate drizzles are what hold the pecan clusters together.  High quality pecans with high quality dark chocolate and I did not find that these are overly sweet.  At $13.99 a pound, this is a very nice treat. Can’t say that these are healthy, but they sure are good.

Retails: $6.99 & 13.99 per lbs @ Oh Nuts!
My Cost: Free
Calories: 120 & 170
WW: 2-3

7 Comments

Filed under Candy, Dried Fruit, Nuts

7 responses to “Oh Nuts! Turkish Pistachios, Medjool Dates, & Chocolate Drizzled Pecans

  1. you got me with those chocolate drizzled pecans! they sound addicting!

  2. sam

    LOL this is funny.

    “With peanut butter in the middle, it was better than going out on a real date.”

  3. One of my pet peeves is pistachios that are hard to open! I think I’ll stick to the Cali kind ;) Sorry to hear about the nail!

  4. Have you ever had Trader Joe’s Dark Chocolate Roasted Pistachio Toffee? My friend had a box in his fridge and I tried a piece- so freaking good. But I would probably not buy it for myself since I’d eat it way too fast!

  5. John

    I love the sound of the pecans and pistachios…tasty! I had some great nut clusters form http://www.mansoura.com . They’re a lil more than 13.99lb but worth every penny.

    Cool Post!

Leave a Reply

