GG Bran Scandinavian Crispbread & Sprinkles

ggfiberOnly 12 calories per cracker that is the size of your palm? You better believe it. GG Scandinavian Crispbread is just that. Twelve calories, 85% bran, 5 gram of dietary fiber, 2 grams of net carbohydrates, and low on the glycemic index. These are a very sturdy cracker which can take on anything you up on it without complaint. No sugar, no flavorings, just unprocessed wheat bran, rye  flour, salt and then baked (I assume they put water in the mix too). If you come in with the right expectations, you won’t be disappointed. Anti-health food eaters would say these resemble and even taste like cardboard, I say that these are fiberful crackers that let’s you use your own imagination to dress it up anyway you like. These crackers are about 4″ by 3″ which has a big enough surface for you to put some spread and some sliced tomatoes on it. The texture is crispy and hard, but does not shatter to piece when you bite into it. For those that have a dehydrator at home, I think you can make something similar. Great way to add fiber into your system. One cracker is 12 calories, 0 WW, zero fat, zero cholesterol, 30 milligram of sodium, 7 grams of carbohydrates, no sugar, 5 grams of fiber, and 1 grams of protein.

GG is the high Fiber Champion. Period. If you eat just 4 slices of GG each day, you will receive a whopping 80% of recommended intake of dietary fiber. Take a look at what else you would need to eat to get so much fiber:

3 medium sized yams (6 oz)
5 cups of raw, uncooked broccoli
7 bananas (8” each)
4 cups of bran flakes

The Sprinkles is just the same as the crispbread, just crushed to make it easy to sprinkle some on you salads, soups, yogurts, etc. Very convenient and easy to add to just about anything. One serving is 3 tablespoon (30 servings per tub), 12 calories, o WW, no fat, no cholesterol, 30 milligram of sodium, 7 grams of carbohydrates, no sugar, 5 grams of fiber, and 1 gram of protein. My verdict: not particularly tasty which is expected, but filling and makes a perfect base for a more dressed up meal. Great appetite suppressor. I felt like I just ate a whole meal just eating one cracker with just a smear of laughing cow, but this was 1.50 to 2 hours after eating a light lunch.

Retails: Crackers $2.17 per pk & $6.63 per tub online
My Cost: Free
Calories: 12 per cracker & 12 per scoop
WW: 0

5 Comments

Filed under Crackers, Fiber, WW: 0

5 responses to “GG Bran Scandinavian Crispbread & Sprinkles

  1. that is such a great idea to sell “pre-crushed” crackers.. i wish they would do that with graham crackers for my yogurt.. nom nom nom :)

  2. Sounds interesting!! How were they in comparison to Wasa crackers?

    • That is a very good question. The truth is, I’ve never had Wasa crackers before. Can you say deprived? I’ll get right on it. Expect a Wasa cracker review soon. What flavor(s) do you recommend?

      • Thanks for the answer!! I’ve only had Wasas once and I think it was some boring flavor (see how memorable it was ;) ) – I’d like to try sour dough though!

  3. Oooo – a blog about snacking? Lucky me :)
    I was wondering the same thing – as to how they compare to Wasa – I can’t say I love Wasa, but if I have to choose, I like sesame best.

Leave a Reply

