Tazo Matcha Green Tea Latte Concentrate

623307Although Tazo tea is a pretty popular brand, I’ve never had much luck with their products. I did not purchase this product, but my brother, who has the biggest sweet tooth in the world, buys this often and makes his own matcha latte at home. He offered me some so I thought I should try it out just for the sake of blogging. The drink calls for equal parts concentrate mixed with equal parts milk. You can serve it hot or cold. Knowing that drinks like these are often way too sweet for me, I opted to use unsweetened vanilla Almond Breeze to dilute the sugar. Nope, still too sweet. 1/2 and 1/2 does not work so I tried 1/4 concentrate, 3/4 Almond Breeze. Better, but I’m still not a fan. Being an avid sencha and matcha green tea drinker, I find that this Tazo Matcha Latte does not taste anything like green tea at all.  This particular blend is suppose to have Japanese matcha green tea and melon flavor in it, but all I could taste was almond milk and sugar. I am not a fan, but if you like the Matcha Green tea lattes they serve at Starbucks, you will probably like this product. The concentrate itself is a pretty dark green color, but once mixed with milk, it turns into this light green color similar to the green color on the box.  One serving (120 ml) is 60 calories, zero fat, zero cholesterol, 5 milligram of sodium, 16 grams of carbohydrates, no fiber, 15 grams of sugar and no protein.

Retails: about $5.00 per 32 oz carton
My Cost: Free
Calories: 60 per 4 oz (concentrate only)
WW: 1

1 Comment

Filed under Drinks, WW: 1

One response to “Tazo Matcha Green Tea Latte Concentrate

  1. hm – sounds interesting.. i’ve never had a tea latte!

Leave a Reply

