Mountain High Yoghurt

mountainhighyogurtI know Greek yogurt is just regular yogurt with most of the liquid strain out of it, but I haven’t been adventurous enough to try it myself. My addiction to Greek yogurt has been getting out of hand lately, especially now that it is summer and hot breakfast is usually not very appealing during this time of the year. I cannot get over the fact of how simple it is to strain your own yogurt and create a delicious, creamy Greek yogurt out of regular plain yogurt. I simply strapped a coffee filter with a rubber band over an empty 32 oz yogurt container and then dumped about 1 cup of this Mountain High Fat Free Plain yogurt on top, close the lid, and left it in the fridge overnight. The next morning, I have myself a bowl of thick and creamy fat free Greek yogurt!! It tasted PHENOMENAL and the thickness is comparable to my all time favorite FAGE. I haven’t had FAGE in a long time, so I will have to buy a cup to compare side by side, but my home-strained yogurt is definitely thicker and creamier than Chobani, Oikos and TJ Greek yogurt. I am super excited!! I am eating my bowl of heaven right now and it is DELICIOUS. It’s so simple it makes me cringe at how much I’ve paid in the past for someone else to do it for me. My little contraption can only make about 1 cup at a time, but I will invest in a more sophisticated contraption to start straining yogurt 1 bucket at a time. Muhahaha. This Mountain High Fat Free Plain yogurt works really well for my purpose. One cup is 120 calories, 2 WW, zero fat, 5 milligram of cholesterol, 180 milligram of sodium,  570 milligram of potassium, 18 gram of carbohydrates, no fiber, 17 grams of sugar, and 12 grams of protein.  I wonder if I start straining Stonyfield Organic Fat Free Plain yogurt, will it turn into something like Oikos? One can only hope. No longer a slave to the prices of store bought Greek yogurt. Amen to that.

Retails: $3.29 for 32 oz @ Vons
My Cost: $2.99 on sale
Calories: 120 per cup
WW: 2

8 Comments

Filed under WW: 2, Yogurt

8 responses to “Mountain High Yoghurt

  1. Yup, I do the same exact thing with my Mountain High – actually, I didn’t even realize that was the name of it – I just recognized it as the cheaper yogurt with the cows on it.

  2. Agh, I’m so bummed that they don’t carry this in the Northeast! For all the products that New York City has, there are so many I see on food blogs that are only carried in other areas of the country. :(

    • I feel you on that. I’ve seen many bloggers enjoy those Arnold’s Sandwich thins for the longest time. Luckily, Oroweat, I think they are own by the same company, just came out their something exactly the same. I am excited.

      I heard you guys have a Greek yogurt called Cabot that we don’t have over here in the West coast. Have you tried that particular brand?

  3. I will need to try this..i don’t have a Vons, but I think our health food stores may carry it, I wish it were lower in sugar..but I use yogurts as toppings to. Great blog! I will be back for more :)

    Char

    • Do you have Safeway or Pavilions? It is the same company as Vons, but I don’t think this is the cheapest place to get it. I’ve seen the giant 64 oz at Costco before, but I forgot how much. I agree with you that the sugar is on the high side for a plain yogurt.

  4. mmm this yogurt sounds delicious :D

  5. What a great idea I am a little more than addicted to greek yogurt myself I definitely need to try this out. :)

  6. what a smart idea making your own greek yogurt — you are creative miss thing! :)

Leave a Reply

