Alternate Baking Company

AlternateBakingCompanyThe Alternate Baking Company offers giant delicious soft-baked vegan cookies. No dairy, no eggs, no honey, zip cholesterol,  trans fat free, no refined sugar and ziltch preservative is the standard for these glorious cookies. These are huge (about 5 inches in diameter) and the temptation is there to just scarf down the entire cookie. One serving is 1/2 a cookie so you have to be careful when you are around these. Best to share with a friend right off the bat, because once you start, it is really hard to stop. The cardboard that cookie lays on is really nice. I slide the entire cookie out, and cut it into 8 pieces like you would do with a pizza and slowly enjoy 1 piece at at time. Each “slice” comes out to be about 60 calories. Soft and chewy, like it was freshly baked. It you nuke it for a bit they taste even more like it was fresh out of the oven.

Chocolate Chip Colossal: The big size and soft and chewiness of it reminds me of BJ’s pizzokie cookie. I spooned a few spoons of ice cream and put 2 slices of warmed cookie (1/2 a serving) on the bottom and it was my version of the infamous pizzokie. Mmmm…… very delicious. Not that these are low calories or anything, but I would not have been able to tell that these are vegan. Taste very good. One serving is 1/2 a cookie, 240 calories, 5 WW, 7 grams of fat (2.5 grams saturated), zero cholesterol, 190 milligram of sodium, 41 grams of carbohydrates, 1 gram of fiber, 20 grams of sugar, and 3 grams of protein. My biggest dislike of these cookies is that they are really high in the sugar department.

Outrageous Oatmeal Raisin Cookie w/ Walnuts: Big and delicious with nice plump raisins throughout, but the walnuts were less detectable. Again, very sweet, it still had great oatmeal raisin cookie taste and texture. Half the cookie is 240 calories, 5 WW, 9 grams of fat (2 grams saturated), zero cholesterol, 85 milligram of sodium, 37 grams of carbohydrates, 2 grams of fiber, 17 grams of sugar, and 5 grams of protein.

Explosive Espresso Chip: Good espresso flavor throughout. The texture is consistent with the other cookies, soft and chewy. Half the cookie is 240 calories, 5 WW, 7 grams of fat (2.5 saturated), zero cholesterol, 180 milligram of sodium, 40 grams of carbohydrates, 1 gram of fiber, 19 grams of sugar and 3 grams of protein.

Although the cookies are good, in general, they are very sweet. Enjoying in moderation is good. I think these treats are good for people who are trying to convert from being a vegetarian to a vegan or anyone who enjoys good tasting cookies.  Tone the sugar level down a few notches and I will be all over these.

Retails: $2.50 per cookie @ Alternate Baking Company
My Cost: Free
Calories: 240 per 1/2 cookie (60g)
WW: 5

13 Comments

Filed under Cookies, WW: 5

13 responses to “Alternate Baking Company

  1. I see these everywhere! But half a cookie is not enough of a serving for me….

  2. Those are pretty POINT-y for me, but they look so good! Especially the espresso chip!

  3. I hate when serving sizes aren’t the whole thing!! Tricky little cookies ;)

  4. thanks for the review!! i agree with k– i HATE when serving sizes are confusing!!!!

    have a great day xoxo

  5. These cookies will ALWAYS remind me of my mom! A few years ago, she went on a kick with the tiny cookies that came packaged in the boxes. We always had those floating around the pantry. Good memories. :D

  6. jocelynsteiber

    Hey- I hate when food is only 1/2 a serving size! I don’t have enough self control to save 1/2 the cookie for another time and I always end out eating the whole thing! : )

  7. I’m checking that out..looks really good. It would be a good splurge, I wish they weren’t high in sugar :(

    char

  8. I’ve only had one of these before but it was delish. Totally didn’t realize the 2 servings thing though, whoops! Like others said I’m not the greatest at self control when it comes to sweet things so that might be a problem for me :)

  9. These cookies are amazing!! I just wish the serving was the whole cookie :D

  10. Bec

    ugg thats so anoying when the serving size isnt the whole cookie what do they except you to cut it up and only eat part of a cookie?

  11. healthnuttxo

    these look yummy. how big are they? decently sized at least? haha

  12. *note to self, must try these cookies!!

    I’ve been addicted to Mani’s bakery’s vegan chocolate chip cookies, maybe these will give me an alternative!

Leave a Reply

