Fresh & Easy Taqueria Thick & Chunky Salsa Mild

04-29-09_1857This Fresh & Easy brand is my current  salsa obsession. Chunky and full of flavor. I love it on everything, especially in my wraps. Adds tons of flavor without adding tons of calories. Two tablespoon is only a mere 10 calories. I love the fresh taste of it. This is my go-to salsa for those salsa and chips nights. Some salsas tends to be overly sweet, but not this one. Sometimes, I dice some fresh red onions and tomatoes in it, gives it a lot more texture and “fresh” feeling. For a shelf stable salsa, the taste of this is very close to fresh salsa you would get at some Mexican burrito shops. The crappy economy has the price of everything going up. I remember these being only $1.34, then it rose to $1.79 and now $1.99. Three price hikes in a matter of months. Grrrrr… Two tablespoon is 10 calories, 0 WW, no fat, 160 milligram of sodium, 2 grams of carbohydrates, 1 gram of sugar and no protein. The simple ingredient list includes: diced tomatoes, water, jalapeno pepper,s tomato paste, onions, dehydrated onions, distilled vinegar, salt, dehydrated, garlic and natural flavor. When these were still $1.34 a jar, my kitchen sink had rows of empty F&E salsa jars all lined up in perfect order waiting to be recycled. Now with the price hike, I’ve started to wander off and found TJ’s Pineapple Salsa that I like in my salads for the same price.

Retails: $1.99 for 16 oz at Fresh & Easy
My Cost: $1.99
Calories: 10 per 2 tbsp
WW: 0

3 Comments

Filed under Fresh & Easy, Salsa, WW: 0

3 responses to “Fresh & Easy Taqueria Thick & Chunky Salsa Mild

  1. What gives with the price hike, fresh and easy? Especially when we have to bag our own stuff….

  2. I loveeee salsa!! Yikes to the price hike though!

  3. yikes! thats one hell of a price hike .. such a bummer :(

Leave a Reply

