[Me] & Goji Custom Artisanal Cereal

06-01-09_1530I apologize for this MUCH delayed review. I got to mix my own personal [Me] & Goji mix months ago and it arrived at my doorsteps in record time. Ever since it arrived I banished it away in far corner of my pantry, putting boxes and cans in front of it to get it out of my line of sight. Goji, it is not you, it’s me. My name is Stephanie and I am a cereal addict. There, I said it. I’m so good with portioning everything else out, but the cereal box, or in this case, the cereal capsule just has this spell over me. I keep on digging in it, one handful after another. Cereal is my kryptonite. I have no self control when it comes to cereal and with artisanal cereal like [Me] & Goji, I knew I would be trouble once I break it open. Low and behold, I ate 1/5 (aka 3 servings) of the canister mindlessly once I opened it. With the jumbo canisters containing 15 servings, I did some major caloric damage, but it was worth it because, yes, it was THAT good. I wish it was as easy as buying all your favorite cereal and mix ins and mix it yourself, but honestly, the ingredients that [Me] & Goji uses are so fresh and delicious I have no idea where I would purchase something comparable.

The Skinny Plate’s Ultimate Goji Mix contains: Artisanal Cereal (multigrain oat bran, rye, spelt, barley, amaranth, wheat germ), Shredded Wheat (bite size shredded wheat), multigrain o’s, ground cinnamon, choco goji, coconut, mulberry, goji, pineapple, mango, pistachio, walnuts, and chia seeds. I felt like I put everything and the kitchen sink in my mix, but I was no where near covering all the bases [Me] & Goji offers as ingredients for your customizable granola and cereal. With 7 bases, 19 grains/extras, 14 dried fruits ,and 14 nuts and seeds as add ins, the possibilities are endless. Best of all, they have some awesome ingredients that I have not seen anywhere else. [Me] & Goji gets props for having a lot of unique add ins. It was so fun playing with the site. Their website is so interactive and user friendly that even kids will have no trouble making their own mix. Follow three simple steps to create your very own personalized your own cereal or granola. Step one: pick a base. Step Two: add fruit, nuts, seeds & more. Step 3: they hand-mix & ship it to your doorstep. The personal signature from the actual “mixer” of my mix is a very nice touch. [Me] & Goji features a large running nutritional information chart and running cost on a capsule on the left that updates automatically, big cereal bowl where you add your selection by dragging and dropping, a compost bin for you to remove any unwanted selection, and cute leaflets on top of each ingredient that give you a description and possible benefits of your ingredient once you click on it. If you are like me, you can spend hours reading up on each ingredients and being all wishy washy on my selections. In the end, don’t forget to give your mix a kick ass name. Love your mix? Reordering is a snap since each recipe has a personal id.

Wahhh… is it just me or is this post getting REALLY long. I can’t help it. [Me] & Goji is so good I can’t stop talking about it. Now I want to describe to you my favorite ingredients. I would seriously consider ordering a whole capsule of just the Artisanal cereal. So FREAKING good! The flakes are fresh, crunchy, barely even sweet, with a really great nutty flavor and 6.5 grams of fiber per serving right off the bat.  I love how the cereal base are really low in sugar because they know that some of the add ins such as dried fruits and chocolate covered items already have a lot of sugar so that balances everything out. Sweet on sweet is not good. The non-sugared up shredded wheat and multigrain o’s really let the whole grain flavors shine through. The goji berries don’t really taste like much, but these are big and plump and not dried out like the one I normally get. The pistachio and walnuts seems to be raw and not roasted. All natural, fresh and delicious. The coconut comes in the form of huge flakes are are so full of flavor. The pineapple crystals are plump and delicious and the mango are perfectly chopped up into little pieces. Does not seem to have added sugar. Mango flavor is just bursting out when you chew on it. Chia seeds are just chia seeds, lots of benefits, but don’t taste like much.   I’ve never had mulberries before, but I thought they were meh.

Like most customizable granola and cereals, [Me] & Goji tends to be on the pricey side if you get carried away with tons of add ins. As far as comparing to online customized granola and cereals, the prices here are very competitive and reasonable. Don’t forget that [Me] & Goji comes is gigantic capsule. If you compare just the basic cereal, which are PHENOMENAL, goji is very competitive as well. This picture is self explanatory:

goji

My mix is 262.3 calories per 3/4 cup serving, 5 WW, 9.8 grams of fat (0.7 gram saturated), zero cholesterol, 136.8 milligram of potassium, 39.7 grams of carbohydrates, 9.4 grams of dietary fiber, 8.8 grams of sugar and 8.2 grams of protein. Not too shabby if I do say so myself. Interested? Here is the id: 110139. Summer special makes shipping very reasonable. The first capsule is $4.99 and each additional capsule is $0.99. Round up your families, besties and co-workers to save a bundle on shipping.

Am I the only one raving about [Me] & Goji? Of course not. Food & Wine Magazine just named [Me] & Goji “Best Natural Cereal.” Congrats. You guys really deserve this title.

Retails: Varies @ [Me] & Goji
My Cost: Free
Calories: 262.3 calories per 3/4 cup (or varies)
WW: 5 (or varies)

8 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Cereal, Snacks, WW: 5

8 responses to “[Me] & Goji Custom Artisanal Cereal

  1. great review girlie!! sounds like you really enjoyed this product :)

  2. Stephanie, thanks for the kind words about our company and our product!

    I agree with everything you say except for the mulberries, they happen to be my favorite ingredient :) but hey, being able to choose different ingredients is the beauty of designing one’s own mix!

    Should anyone have any questions about [me] & goji or creating a mix that suits one’s nutritional and/or dietary needs, feel free to write me at carl@meandgoji.com

    sin-cereal-y,

    carl

    founder
    [me] & goji

  3. This cereal sounds great! Thanks for the comprehensive review… :)

  4. I would love that cereal! I’m a cereal addict too!

  5. Nicole

    I’ve never tried these products before, but I really love the packaging!

  6. I have been interested in these cereals but I am not a big fan of granola. I want everything separate, the fruit, the nuts, the flax, etc. I don’t know if I would like it!

  7. Your love for cereal is apparent!! Hey, I don’t mind. I love cereal too. [Me] & Goji looks fantastic!!

Leave a Reply

