Oroweat Sandwich Thins 100% Whole Wheat

SandwichThinThe day has finally come that we have sandwich thins over here on the West Coast. I’ve always been jealous of my fellow bloggers enjoying their sandwiches and burgers on Arnold’s or Pepperidge Farms sandwich thins and never been able to find them here where I live. I’ve even gone as far as contacting the companies to ask them where I could buy them. The wait is gone since Oroweat/Arnold’s brings them to the West Coast! I don’t have to enjoy my sandwiches and burgers open face anymore. The whole “set”, top and bottom are only 100 calories, 1 WW, 1 gram of fat, zero cholesterol, 230 milligram of sodium, 22 grams of carbohydrates, 5 grams of dietary fiber, 2 gram of sugar and 4 grams of protein. Of course, given the “lightness” in the caloric department, don’t expect the bread to be thick and hearty. They are thin, just enough to give your ingredients a good coverage and that is it. I always enjoy the ingredients in my sandwich and burgers more than the vessel that holds it together. The bread is flat, soft and chewy. I did not feel that it tasted “airy” like some other lower in calorie breads. I felt like I actually ate something when I use these sandwich thins. The pack comes with a generous 8 set of thins. Option for multigrain or 100% whole wheat.

– Conveniently pre-sliced
– Only 100 calories
– No High Fructose Corn Syrup
– 5 grams of fiber
– 4 grams of protein
– 19 grams of whole grain per serving

Perfect size for Sunshine and Gardenburgers.  Made some delicious peanut butter and jelly sandwich with these too.  If you are a huge fan, get them at Costco for an awesome deal. I think it was around $4.50 for a pack of 16.

Retails: $2.99 pk of 8 @ Albertson
My Cost: on sale $2.50
Calories: 100 per Thin (top & bottom)
WW: 1


23 Comments

Filed under Bread, WW: 1

23 responses to “Oroweat Sandwich Thins 100% Whole Wheat

  1. I’ve seen these all over the place. I really want to get some. Once we move apartments this is going on the grocery list

  2. haha i am SO happy that these are finally available in the west coast too!

  3. I was excited too when I finally found them! :) I don’t like a lot of bread anyway, and I love them for my veggie burgers. Or for a portobello burger… Or for a cheese & tomato sandwich. Well, I guess you can say I like them! :)

  4. But is it substantial? It just looks so flat to me, so I haven’t dared to try it out yet.

  5. Ack, just moved from the West coast to the East coast! A little bit too late Oroweat. :D

  6. I just bought these the other day at Luckys. I wasn’t a huge fan though. They remind me of hamburger buns which is my least favorite form of bread. Haha.

    • Yes, the shape resembles a flatter version of a hamburger bun, but it taste more like bread than a bun. Try toasting it a bit, maybe you will like it more. ~_^

      • Mary

        I just discovered these at SAMS and I love them! They are delicious toasted for BLTs. Like others, I’m not a fan of too much bread on my sandwiches, so these are perfect.

  7. Jenny

    ah you know how i love my sandwich thins! have you ever tried the pepperidge farm deli flats?! they are awesome as well!

  8. Yay for finally getting them! We didn’t get them in my area (FL) until prob. like Feb.!

  9. say what?! i wonder which grocery stores i should hit in LA!!!

  10. Jennifer

    These are so wonderful because you feel like you are eating. They are great for any kind of sandwich you would normal have. They may appear to some to be thin but it beats the heck out of a low fat tortilla wrap all the time. The best deal is definitely at Sams and Costco. I must say I am hooked!

  11. michelle

    I saw these at Albertson’s this weekend and snagged a bag. I fixed myself a veggieburger using the Sandwhich Thins and a MorningStar veggie burger, lettuce, tomato, and WW cheese slice. I felt like I was eating a restaurant quality cheeseburger. It was so good, I had another the next night. The Sandwich Thins are awesome!

  12. First of all, I just found your blog…love it already! And I am dying to try these sandwich thins. I saw the ad in Everyday with Rachel Ray. I’m heading to the store now to look for some. Thanks so much for the review!

  13. Teresa Sasse

    I rarely participate in surveys, but this product is great. I like that there are eight servings per package; I can use it up before it goes stale. The taste is very good – even my picky eight year old grandson, Tanner, likes it. Thank you. I plan to continue buying this product.

  14. I used one this morning for breakfast for a
    egg sandwich. just the right size and tasted
    good as well.
    great for pizza,grilled sandwich
    I toasted mine on the grill
    definitely will buy them again

  15. Lillie M. Adams

    I am very pleased with your Oroweat sandwich thins. I would like to know if you have kitchen tested rye, oatmeal, pumpernickel and Ezekiel bread type thins? Even if you haven’t I will eat your wheat and multi-grain thins from this day forward. Please inform me if you will be placing any of the afore mentioned additional types of thins on the market. The original thins are just what I’ve hoped for!

  16. sherry

    These make great “mini-pizzas”…just spread some pizza sauce, your choice of meat/veggies, mozzarella cheese…stick in oven..and “wah-lah”!

  17. kimberly

    We just tried these yesterday, we substituted these for buns at our Labor Day bbq. Let me just say, I am the biggest fan of these! They have a great taste, a perfect size and are more than filling. I recommend these for anyone seeking a whole wheat option without a lot of carbs or calories. Very happy with the fiber count, too. LOVE these thins!

  18. Vegan

    Are these vegan friendly?

    • Hi,
      I looked at the package, but it does not say it is vegan. I also looked at the ingredients list and did not see any butter, eggs, or any other (known to me) ingredients that are not vegan friendly. My guess is that they are vegan friendly. Hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

