Don Sabrosa Gourmet Salsa

Picture 017Noting adds a a whole lot of flavor without adding tons of calories like salsa. Salsa is one of my go-to condiments when I whip up a quick wrap or a fresh salad. I was ecstatic when a box of Don Sabrosa Natural Gourmet Salsa arrived at my doorsteps. Don Sabrosa carries 3 different salsas in 2 spice level: Hot or Mild in either Black Bean & Corn, Blueberry Peaches & Honey and Roasted Garlic all with no sodium or water added.

Black bean with Corn: Chunky salsa which whole pieces of black beans and corn. Very delicious and flavorful. The flavor is bold and robust. Although this is the “hot” version, I could only detect heat when I eat it directly and on chips, but when I put it in my wraps, I cannot tell that these have heat at all. I admit, I can tolerate a lot of heat, so maybe this is why I did not this one was “hot” at all. Sadly, during transportation, the “mild” black bean with corn was broken so I can’t compare.  There is the United States Post office for you. I knew something was fishy when the package arrived and there seemed to be moisture damage at one corner of the box. Luckily, only one jar of these precious salsa was damaged.  Black bean and corn makes a wicked combination for salsa. Lots of black beans and corn in each and every spoonful. Defiantly gourmet goodness and no filler in there.  Mmmmm… two thumbs way up for this one. I’d say perfect in salads because the whole black beans and whole corn kernels adds a lot of texture and flavor to your salad. I call this my “salad topper” in a jar.

Blueberry, Peaches and Honey: The most interesting flavor of them all. I’ve had pineapple salsa and I’ve had peach salsa before, but blueberry, peaches with honey? Defiantly on the fruity and sweet side. I thought the honey would make this one super sweet, but I think it complemented well. Again the “hot” was not “hot” for me, so I like the mild and hot just the same. I guess the heat is more of residual sensation rather than very upfront. Big chunks of peppers, diced tomatoes and spices within the whole jar. Sweet and savory. A nice summer time salsa. Again, I like to use this  on top of my summer salads because gourmet salsa is too precious to waste.

Roasted Garlic: No fillers, just wholesome chunky salsa. Lots of minced garlic in the jar, but the garlic flavor is subtle and not overwhelming. And you get a little bit of garlic breath after you eat this. This blend is full and flavorful. Again, big chunks of diced tomatoes, peppers, garlic pieces, and spices are visible in every spoonful of this salsa.

Each jar of Don Sabrosa Gourmet Salsa is filled to the brim with real ingredients. No water or cheap fillers.What you can expect is whole chunks of tomatoes, peppers, onions another spices in each jar. Pretty pricey for a salsa, but they quality of it makes up for the price tag. All the flavors are very flavorful. The most interesting is the blueberry, peaches and honey. The more traditional flavors, black bean with corn and roasted garlic, are spot on and bursting with flavors. One serving of 2 tablespoons (32g) is 15 calories, 0 WW, zero fat, zero cholesterol, 10 milligram of sodium, 4 grams of carbohydrates, 1 gram of dietary fiber, 3 grams of sugar, and no protein.

Retails: $5.99 (16 ounce) @ Don Sabrosa Salsa
My Cost: Free
Calories: 15 per 2 tbsp
WW: 0

P.S: Check out these giveaways:
Pure Bars & Oikos

4 Comments

Filed under Salsa, WW: 0

4 responses to “Don Sabrosa Gourmet Salsa

  1. Jenny

    oh salsa, how i love thee

  2. jocelynsteiber

    I live for salsa (and guac and margaritas!) haha MExican restaurants? count me in!I love it!

    I just started putting salsa on my salads instead of dressing! so good!

    xo
    Jocelyn

  3. Pingback: Flatout Healthy Grain Multigrain « The Skinny Plate

Leave a Reply

