Barbara’s Bakery Honey Rice Puffins

honeyricepuffinNot nearly as addicting as Barbara’s Bakery Peanut Butter Puffins. The size is smaller, but still in the pillow form. The color is pale rice milk color. Subtle rice flavor and the honey flavor is almost undetectable unless your palate is really fine tuned. Besides honey, the cereal is also sweetened with dehydrated cane juice. Overall, this is not an overly sweet cereal. Good snacking size. Taste great, but for the same price, I would opt for my all time favorite PB Puffins. 100% natural, wheat-free, gluten-free, low fat, no trans fat, no cholesterol, dairy free, no artificial colors or preservatives, and kosher. A celiac friendly cereal.  Great finger food for kids and adults alike. The Honey Rice variety is not available everywhere and may be a little hard to hunt down since the PB Puffins is the more popular variety.  A nice change for the usual corn-based cereal since Honey Rice puffins are made of rice flour. One 3/4 cup (30g) is 120 calories, 2 WW, 1.5 grams of fat, zero cholesterol, 125 milligram of potassium, 25 grams of carbohydrates, 2 grams of dietary fiber, 6 grams of sugar, and 2 grams of protein. Did I mention I hit the Puffins jackpot? You gotta see my receipt to believe it. Twitpic here. (Puffins on sale for $2.29 plus my stack of $1.00 coupons = $1.29 a box) I made out with 6 boxes (1 Honey Rice and 5 PB Puffins)

Retails: $4.29 @ Henry’s Marketplace
My Cost: $1.29 one sale plus $1 off coupon (see twitpic)
Calories: 120 per 3/4 cup (30g)
WW: 2

P.S: Check out these awesome giveaways:
Spiralizer & Vitatops

11 Comments

Filed under Cereal, Whole Foods, WW: 2

11 responses to “Barbara’s Bakery Honey Rice Puffins

  1. Nice review! That’s great that the honey puffins cereal is not overly sweet! And the peanut butter one sounds good, too!

  2. I haven’t seen these around yet, but will try when I see it. I dislike super sweet cereals so sounds good :) I love the original Puffins as well (and PB is awesome too!)

  3. healthnuttxo

    i can’t even tell you how much i feel EXACTLY the same. im crazy about the pb variety, so i tried this one. it was okay, but given the choice- pb all the way!
    stay away from the cinnamon variety. it’s not good plain. maybe with milk, but i didn’t care for it. toooooo “cinnamony” if you will hahah

  4. Thanks for the review. I have wondered about Puffins. I don’t like really sweet cereals, so these sound great.

  5. That is an INCREDIBLE price!! I just tried the original Puffins for the first time, and I thought $3 was a good price. ;) I was going to try the cinnamon, but now I’m wondering whether I should… :/

    <3 <3

  6. Mmmm I love Barbara :) her puffins are too big of a competition in my eyes! But I would def give these a whirl

  7. I think I’m the only blogger who wasn’t thrilled with the PB Puffins! Shocker, I know! However, I haven’t tried this one so maybe I’ll pick up a box :)

  8. Kimberly

    I have Celiac and these are the only Puffins I can eat! I love them!!! Great price!

    Kim

  9. It really is hard to find a cereal that beats PB Puffins in my book :)

Leave a Reply

