Larabars: Peanut Butter & Jelly and German Chocolate Cake Jocolat

IMG_0296On my quest to track down the new Larabar flavors everyone has been enjoying while I drool over the computer screen, I ventured to Whole Foods yet again. Patiently waiting for them to suddenly appear on the shelves for yet another week, I decided to ask the lady who was stocking the bar aisle when the new Larabar flavors will arrive. Seeing that my Whole Foods seems to have ALL the Larabar flavors under the sun EXCEPT for the new one irritated me a little. Turns out, it never hurts to ask because the lady said they have them in the back, but the bar aisle is so packed, she didn’t have a spot for them yet. She went to the back and brought back EVERYTHING I was looking for: Tropical Fruit Tart, Peanut Butter and Jelly, German Chocolate Jocolat and even the Larabar Minis. Larabar lovers rejoice because INSIDE the most recent edition of “Whole Deals” is a Larabar coupon. 75 cents off 2 bars and it expires 10/31/2009. Discounted larabars until end of October. Booya!! Since I can only use 1 coupon at a time I picked up the PB & J and German Chocolate Cake Jocolat flavor. I’ll pick up the Tropical Fruit tart next time now that I know my Whole Foods has them. Seriously, the bars section of my Whole Foods spans across 1/2 an aisle and was already extremely packed. When I left, I saw that the lady managed to squeeze the new flavors on the shelf already.

Peanut Butter & Jelly: OMG. Love at first taste with the new Peanut Butter and Jelly flavor Larabar. It taste like my beloved Peanut Butter Cookie Larabar, only BETTER. The unsweetened cherries gave the PB bar a great “jelly” taste. This bar earns the top spot on my Larabar ranking list. With the added unsweetened cherries, this bar is not as crumbly as the original peanut butter cookie larabar. I chopped up 1/2 the bar into 6 small pieces and ate it with my Greek yogurt with frozen fruit combo for breakfast. So good! Only 4 ingredients: Dates, peanuts, unsweetened cherries and salt. Each bar is 210 calories, 4 WW, 10 grams of fat (2 grams saturated), zero cholesterol, 60 milligram of sodium, 340 milligram of potassium, 27 grams of carbohydrates, 4 grams of dietary fiber, 19 grams of sugar, 6 grams of protein, ans a whole slew of vitamins and minerals.

German Chocolate Cake Jocolat: My first Jocolat flavor and it turns out to be a new flavor so I can only compare this to the regular Larabars. Smells really chocolaty.  I really like the “fine chocolate” yet not too sweet flavor in this bar. The added coconut shreds makes this chocolate flavor bar stand out among the rest of the chocolate bars I’ve had in the past. For some reason, I can taste some sour tones in the bar. I’ve never had real German chocolate before so I cannot compare this to the real thing. These are no chocolate brownies, but can really satisfy a chocolate craving. The ingredients are: dates, pecans, almonds, unsweetened chocolate, unsweetened coconut, extra virgin coconut oil, and cocoa powder. Each bar is 210 calories, 4 WW, 13 grams of fat (5 grams saturated, zero trans, 5 grams MUFA, 3 grams PUFA), zero cholesterol, zero sodium, 310 milligram potassium, 25 grams of carbohydrates, 4 grams of fiber, 17 grams of sugar, 3 grams of protein, and a whole lotta vitamins and minerals.

So far, I am really impressed with two of the three new flavors Larabars just launched. These are definitely flavors I will be repurchasing. In reality, there are many flavors of Larabars I have not tried since I always go for my favorites. Need to break out of the shell and be a little more adventurous with my Larabars. What are your Larabar favorites? I need some recommendations.

Retails: 1.29 each @ Whole Foods
My Cost: $0.94 each w/coupon (Look inside Whole Deals booklet)
Calories: 210 calories
WW: 4

P.S: Check out these awesome giveaways:
Puffins+ & Monthly+Jam

13 Comments

Filed under Bars, Snacks, Whole Foods, WW: 4

13 responses to “Larabars: Peanut Butter & Jelly and German Chocolate Cake Jocolat

  1. Aw, I still don’t like Larabars. There’s something weird about them for me. Oh, well. I’m tempted to try them again just because all my fellow bloggers love them so much!

  2. The PBJ Larabar is amazing! It’s definitly on the list of my favorites as well :)

  3. I’m definitely picking those up on my next trip to Whole Foods. Thanks for the coupon tip :)

  4. Okay, I did NOT see the German Chocolate Jocolat bars!!!

    Glad to hear that the PB&J flavor was good. Looks like I need to make another WF trip soon.

  5. These flavors sound awesome! I’ll have to go on another hunt for them…

  6. *GASP*

    Those flavours sounds amazing.

    I want to cry now. I’ve never seen those flavours in Canada. And they are never in sale. :'(

  7. I have yet to find a Larabar flavor that I didn’t like. I haven’t tried them all, or any of the Jocolats, but I would have to recommend: Apple Pie, Banana Bread, Pecan Pie, PB, PBJ, Chocolate Coconut, Pistachio, Cinnamon Roll and Cashew Cookie. Not a big fan of the Cherry Pie or Ginger Snap, but to each their own!

    And I wish I had a WF!

  8. OH MY GOSH!!!

    I am so jealous.. I live in Denver where larabars are freaking MADE and I still cant find them.. I even contacted them directly, but got no response, it is a sad day! But dang.. GO YOU!

  9. I’ve been dying to try the new PB+J flavor + German Chocolate Cake, but can’t find it in any stores near me!

    I also really like their cashew cookie, banana bread, and chocolate coconut flavors.

    Thanks for the reviews on them!

  10. After all the rave reviews (ok, 2) of the PBJ bar, I can’t wait to try it. My all-time favorite is Cashew Cookie – I like PB Cookie, and generally I love anything and everything peanut butter – but CC is SO yummy!

  11. i have not heard a single bad thing about the PB&Jelly larabar — i need to track down that baby stat!

  12. OMG, did you say PB&J!!! I would love that! PB Larabar has always been my fave!

    I’m so excited for the mini’s…hope I can find them soon=)

  13. Kimberly

    I had a hard time finding the PB & J, too! I finally got one and had it yesterday…OMG…new fav!!! :)

    I have yet to try the Tart & German Chocolate, but they are waiting in my pantry~!

Leave a Reply

