Wonderful Pistachios

IMG_0300Pistachios are one of my favorite nuts. I love the toasty aroma and the natural buttery taste of it. I always pick these up with shells because they are way too easy to munch on without them. It is sort of like built in portion control. Wonderful Pistachios are very easy to open.  One in about 20 pieces I had a hard time opening. The nuts are pretty big in size.  A couple of nuts are enough to stop my hunger. Perfect snack to hold you over. The thing about snacking on these is that they can get messy. Since these are salted and roasted, your hands inevitable gets dirty. Nothing a little soap and water won’t get out. We all civilized people, we wash out hands before AND after eating. Right? Doing a little weighing and measuring, I found that 10 shelled pistachios weights about 6 grams. Taking my time shelling and eating them, about 20 pistachios is a good size snack for me. Let me do the math. My snack turns out to be only 68 calories and nuts really do stop hunger in it’s tracks. I’ve been snacking on these Wonderful Pistachios everyday.

Did you know that pistachios are: the most nutrient dense, highest in antioxidants, and lowest in calories among all nuts, plus they are high in fiber, and  hearth-healthy. Over 50% of the fat content in pistachios are from monounsaturated fat which is the heart-healthy fat that helps lower LDL levels (“bad” cholesterol) and also contains oleoylethanolamide, which is an appetite suppressant found in MUFA.  That is why pistachios are also dubbed as the “skinny nut.” Find out more here. Pistachios are such a wonderful nut that there is a website all dedicated to them — Pistachio Health (@pistachiohealth on twitter). I had no idea that my favorite nut is actually so good for me.

Don’t worry, these babies are safe.  Luckily, Wonderful Pistachios was not part of the recall according to Pistachiorecall.org.

One serving 1/2 cup with shells or 1/4 cup without shells (30g) is about 170 calories, 4 WW, 14 grams of fat (1.5 grams saturated, 4 grams PUFA, 7 grams MUFA), zero cholesterol, 160 milligram of sodium, 310 milligram potassium, 8 grams of carbohydrates, 3 grams of dietary fiber, 2 grams of sugar, and 6 grams of protein.

Retails: $9.99 per 24 ounce bag @ Paviliions
My Cost: Free
Calories: 170 per ounce (shelled)
WW: 4

P.S: Check out these awesome giveaways:
Clif Bars & Larabars

7 Comments

Filed under Nuts, Snacks

7 responses to “Wonderful Pistachios

  1. I love pistachios but haven’t had any in a long time. I sort of overate them for a while… Great review. Thanks for the info! It may be time for me to get some pistachios… :)

  2. Out of all the nuts, pistachios are my favorite. :D I’ll definitely have to try these, but I’ve never seen them and I don’t have a Pavilion’s here on the east coast.

  3. i am going to need to find these – pistachios are totally one of my fave nuts! can you believe i was scared to eat them growing up because they were green? ahhh, if only i had known!

  4. ter

    pistachios are indeed wonderful! healthy and delicious. usually i will add them to my yogurt pot with fruits! :)

  5. I love pistachios too, but don’t tend to eat them too often for some reason. I need to get some more asap :)

  6. i love pistachios! not only are they delish but they’re so fun to eat :)

  7. I love pistachios! I like to add them to salads and I also like to eat them with fruit and cheese!

Leave a Reply

