Peeled Snacks Fruit Picks

IMG_0413Peeled Snacks is a company that specialized in nuts and fruit snacks. I got a chance to try out an array of their fruit picks. No added sugar which is an important factor when I look for my fruit snacks. Fruits already have a lot of natural sugars in them. The packaging is bright and vibrant with cute as a button names. No added sugar, fat, trans fats, hydrogenated oils, artificial flavors or colors; wheat-free, gluten-free and dairy-free. They have the mixed fruit and nuts pouches and also the “unmixed” versions: fruit picks and nut picks. The fruit snacks still retains a bit of moisture so these dried fruits are definitely not dried out. You might get the case of the “sticky fingers” after eating these.

Go-Mango-Man-Go (organic): Really delicious mango stripes. Not overly sweet. I like how the piece were kind of small so I felt like I had more to eat. I snacked away because the entire bag is only 120 calories, 2 WW, zero fat, no sodium, 23 grams of carbohydrates, 2 grams of dietary fiber, 20 grams of sugar and 2 gram of protein. Something I love to see, ingredients, just organic mango. The texture is a bit dry and, but it still retained the fresh mango flavor.

Banana-a-peel (organic): As I kid I use to LOVE those banana chips. As I grew older and wiser I kicked banana chips to the curb and opted for real bananas. Bananas are really convenient and can be taken anywhere just like the dried banana in a package. I consider this flavor to be VERY luxurious to shell out that much money for. Bananas are only $0.19 cents each at Trader Joe’s. Aside from the price, these are pretty good. I can see myself making Banana Bread Larabars with these. No need to “dehydrate” bananas on my own. Soft and sweet, but I prefer real bananas over pouched ones. One bag (40g) is 150 calories, 3 WW, 0.5 grams of fat, no sodium, 38 grams of carbohydrates, 2 grams of dietary fiber, 25 grams of sugar and 1 gram of protein.

Apricot-a-lot (organic): The color is dark and not your usual bright orange dried apricots. Brown blotches of orange, not pretty, but still yummy. Taste fresh and the size is like an inflated half dollar coin.  One bag (41 grams) 110 calories, 2 WW, no fat, no sodium, 26 grams of carbohydrates, 3 grams of dietary fiber, 22 grams of sugar, and 2 grams of protein.

Apple-2-core (organic): The texture is mushy and squishy so I am not a fan. Good apple flavor. For apples, I think I like apple chips and real apples. I’ll turn these into homemade “apple pie” larabars. One bag (35g) is 110 serving, 2 WW, no fat, no sodium, 27 grams of carbohydrates, 3 grams of fiber, 20 grams of sugar, and <1 gram of protein.

Cherry-Go-Round: Very plump and juicy. Reminds me of plump raisins, but in cherry flavor. One bag is 130 calories, 2 WW, no fat, no cholesterol, no sodium, 30 grams of carbohydrates, 4 grams of fiber, 24 grams of sugar, and 2 grams of protein. This is the only fruit variety to got that is not organic.

Pine-4-Pineapple (organic): My favorite flavor because I rarely see just dried pineapples. Usually I see candied pineapples in the bulk bins. Very tropical feeling. Sweet, chewy and soft. One bag (42grams) is 140 calories, 3 WW, no fat, nosodium, 36 grams of carbohydrates, 1 gram of fiber, 32 grams of sugar and 1 gram of protein.

In general, I treat dried fruits like candy. After all, fruits are nature’s candy right? Especially in dried form, when all the water is gone I don’t feel comfortable eating lots of it at one sitting. Eating the real thing on-the-other-hand is a different story.  I like how peeled snacks are individually packaged so the fruits stays moist and yummy and portion control is a no brainier when each package is only 1 serving. I can keep these anywhere and eat them anytime. I think these are particularity good for packing lunches for the young ones. Fruits and Nuts make the perfect snack option. Check out these amazing combination: Figslated, Bing Bing Chery, Shock-olate, and Plu-What? Now those combination have 2 serving in each pouch and will keep you satisfied with both fruits and nuts. The down side of Peeled snacks is the price. The individual portion size is convenient, but you will be paying a premium price for them. Their spectacular flavors and impressive one item ingredient list is what keeps satisfied customers coming back for more.

Take their survey online to get a $10 gift card. Use it towards some of their summer deals going on and you have yourself an amazing deal. Amazon is also having steep discounts on Peeled Snacks too. Discount code: PEELED22. Combine with the subscribe & save deal, you are looking at a 40% discount. Offer ends August 30, 2009. And I think shipping is only $0.99 standard shipping on all grocery items on Amazon right now. As always, anything over $25 get you free standard shipping on Amazon.

Retails: Sampler about $2.25 each pouch @ Peeled Snack
My Cost: Free
Calories: 110 to 150 per serving (fruit picks)
WW: 2-3

9 Comments

Filed under Dried Fruit, Organic, Snacks, WW: 2, WW: 3

9 responses to “Peeled Snacks Fruit Picks

  1. traveleatlove

    I had the mango in my Healthy Living Summit swag bag. It was SOOOO good! I ate the whole thing in one day. I will have to order one of those gift cards!

  2. oh thanks for the 411 on the discount girl — chaching!

  3. i bought some of these and they were good…but the price was i thought absurd for the size of the package

  4. Thanks for the survey and coupon! Awesome deals indeed :)

    Hehe, cute names–I would love to try that mango one!

  5. Thanks for the review! :) I love dried cherries….

  6. When I do eat fruit in a form other than raw, I generally like it freeze dried. These do look good though! I may have to give them a try if I see them. Thanks for the heads up. ^^

  7. These sound so good! What a great on-the-go snack!

    Thanks for the review!

  8. Thanks for the great review – pineapple sounds good! That’s too bad that the apple is mushy :(

    Thanks for the heads up about the survey as well!

Leave a Reply

