Panda All Natural Soft Raspberry Confection

IMG_0556I never knew I was a licorice lover until my friend offered my some strawberry flavored ones they sell in the tubs from Trader Joe’s.  I fell in love with them, but I rarely buy them since I don’t need them in the house taunting me all the time. I spotted the Panda All Natural brand at Whole Foods in single serving packages so I decided to treat myself to the fruity raspberry flavor. In my mind I thought I got myself a raspberry flavor licorice bar, but nowhere on the package do I see the word licorice. “Raspberry flavored bar” and “soft raspberry confection” are the words on the package. Maybe there is some technicality to the term licorice? First bite into it I knew why it is not label licorice, because it isn’t — duh! Or if this really is licorice, then I don’t like it. The texture is like a soft chew, but a little firmer. Nothing like my beloved TJ’s licorice. The flavor is suppose to be raspberry, but I don’t think it has a pure raspberry flavor. It is sort of a mix berry/prune flavor. The bar is pretty thick and solid rod and about 6 inches in length. When I bit into it, there was a noticeable color difference between the outer layer and the inside. I thought it was some sort of filling at first, but it’s not. Not particularly delicious. Each bar (32g) is 100 calories, 2 WW, fat-free, no cholesterol, 65 milligram of sodium, 24 grams of carbohydrates, 0 gram of fiber, 14 grams of sugar, and 1 gram of protein. Ingredients: Molasses, wheat flour, citric acid and natural flavor. Panda All Natural Licorice also has other very interesting flavors as well.  I am intrigued by the Panda Filled Licorice which is their original flavor licorice with flavored fillings such as strawberry, caramel, banana, and chocolate. I’m going to take a pass on this one, but might consider their other REAL licorice varieties.

The unique Real taste of Licorice Premium quality, soft licorice All Natural ingredients

No added colors
No added salt
No artificial flavors
99 % fat free
No preservatives
Kosher certified Suitable for vegan and vegetarian consumption

Retails: $0.69 each (32g) @ Whole Foods
My Cost: $0.09 (on sale plus coupon inside Whole Deals Booklet)
Calories: 100 each
WW: 2

5 Comments

Filed under Candy, Whole Foods, WW: 2

5 responses to “Panda All Natural Soft Raspberry Confection

  1. Yay for being veggie friendly :) I’m not a fan of black licorice but I used to like red so this sounds good! I love that you paid $0.09, haha!

  2. licorice is probably the one and only candy i don’t like.. :(

  3. I don’t like black licorice, but I do like the red vine stuff…does that count it licorice? The caramel, banana, and chocolate flavors sound really good though!

  4. traveleatlove

    Hi! Just wanted to let you know that you were one of the winners of my Good Health Natural Products giveaway. Please send your contact info to traveleatlove2009@hotmail.com.
    :)

  5. Yeah, doesn’t sound like a keeper :(

Leave a Reply

