EnviroKidz Organic Crispy Rice Bar Peanut Butter

IMG_0488Thanks to the lovely Kimberly over at Gluten-Free is Life for hosting her Nature’s Path giveaway. I got a chance to enter and win. Yay! Along with some yummy Nature’s Path cereal, I got some EnviroKidz Panda Peanut Butter Crispy rice bars. I am a kid at heart so I had no problem gobbling up bars meant for kids. No shame here. The packaging makes the bar look bigger than normal bars, but this is a pretty light weight 1 oz bar. Basically, this is just a gluten-free rice crispy-type bar with peanut butter flavor. I was hoping for a more intense PB flavor, but it pales in comparison to other PB flavored treats. The bar is “glued” together with a sugar concoction. I say sugar concoction because there are 5 types of sugar listed here, evaporated cane juice, molasses, brown rice syrup, honey and invert cane syrup. The ingredients list reflect the taste of the bar — SWEET. Each bar is 110 calories, 2 WW, 3 grams of fat, no cholesterol, 80 milligram of sodium, 20 grams of carbohydrates, >1 gram of fiber, 7 grams of sugar, and 2 grams of protein. I guess 7 grams of sugar is not an outrageous number, but I thought it tasted really sweet. The rice pebbles are not really stuck together firmly. You can pull it apart really easily, like the texture of homemade rice crispy treats BEFORE you let it sit int he fridge to let it set. In reality, I would not purchase this item to eat myself, but I can see these as a tasty treat for people on a strict gluten-free diet. Other Crispy rice bars from this line to consider are: Envirokidz Kola Chocolate, Cheetah Berry Blast, Lemur Peanut Choco Drizzle, and Penguin Fruity Burst. The are all low fat, low sodium, nothing artificial, gluten-free. USDA organic. Product of USA.

Ingredients
Organic Crispy Rice (Organic Brown Rice Flour, Organic Evaporated Cane Juice, Sea Salt, Organic Molasses, Rice Extract), Partially Polished Organic Brown Rice Syrup, Organic Honey, Organic Peanut Butter (Peanuts, Salt), Organic Invert Cane Syrup, Organic Expeller-pressed Canola Oil, Organic Acacia Gum, Organic Corn Starch.

Retails: $3.69 per box of 6 @ Whole Foods
My Cost: Free (won giveaway)
Calories: 110 each
WW: 2

13 Comments

Filed under Bars, Gluten Free, Snacks, Whole Foods, WW: 2

13 responses to “EnviroKidz Organic Crispy Rice Bar Peanut Butter

  1. I actually really enjoy this bars.. But I have been known to have an outrageous sweet tooth :)

  2. balancejoyanddelicias

    I need to try that one, sounds good! :)

  3. Kimberly

    Glad that you got to try the bars!

    They are a bit sweet, I use them more to satisfy a sweet craving or my son eats them since he is GF, too.

    :)

    The Lemur Peanut Choco Drizzle are pretty darn tasty! I love PB & chocolate together.

  4. Thanks for the review! I wasn’t sure what these bars were like, so I never bought it. Seems like a healthier dupe for rice crispies. Hmmm, maybe it would be better to make my own with tons of pb :D and less sugar (not a fan of overly sweet things too).

  5. Biz

    Hey! You won my one year blogiversary giveaway! Email me at bdl319@gmail.com and I’ll get MasterCook and Tabasco products off to you – you’ll love it! :D

  6. healthnuttxo

    im tempted to try these, and the other bars, but always put them back bc of the low fiber content. perhaps ill skip them all together bc you say they are too sweet. i like nature’s path flax plus granola chewy bars. i did a review of them on my blog, there good =]

  7. Those do sound really sweet! I’m sure all kids would love those!!

    And congrats on another win, you lucky girl!!

  8. These bars were pretty good..but almost too sticky to eat! And melted very easily :-( They work when you have a rice krispy bar craving but no desire to whip up a whole pan!

  9. julie

    I agree! I’ve had the chocolate and the pb both which I think are just okayyy. Kind of sugary and def not filling :)

  10. Hm. I’m not convinced for this bars. They look really ultra-sweet to me, viewing the ingredient list, it seems like more than 50% is sweeteners!

  11. I always wanted to try these because I thought they’d be like the treats my mom used to make (basically rice krispie treats but with cheerios and PB) but if it’s not very PB-y in flavor I may have to pass or wait till they’re on sale!

  12. Considering I have a major sweet tooth, these things sound perfect :)
    Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

