The Ginger People Gin Gins

IMG_0593Yay for twitter (@theskinnyplate). I recently won The Ginger People’s twitter (@TheGingerPeople) contest and they sent me a very generous prize package (twitpic here). I was super excited because I only get the original ginger chew from Trader Joe’s and now I get to try out all their other varieties plus their Gin Gins and Crystallized Ginger pieces. Can I say ginger overload? Of all the products, I was looking forward most to trying out the Gin Gins because they are suppose to pack the most ginger punch. Gin Gins comes in 2 varieties, one soft and caramel-like texture and the other is a hard ginger candy.

Gin Gin Boost: A small little candy that packs good ginger burst. This is suppose to be the most potent candy from The Ginger People with over 30% fresh ginger. I was expecting a really strong, spicy flavor, but I felt that it was only mildly stronger than the Original Ginger chew and does not have the spicy feeling that the Original Ginger Chew has. Then again, the size of this candy is only about 1/2 the size of a ginger chew. Pretty small and only 10 calories each. The texture is caramel-like if you chew on it.  Each chew is individually wrapped to maintain freshness. Very convenient to carry around. They call it the little potion for motion and the little traveler’s insurance because it helps with motion sickness and soothes minor upset stomachs. Personally, I really enjoy the benefit of easing my stomach after meals.  Another really interesting way to use these soft Gin Gins is to melt 5-6 pieces into a cup of water — instant ginger tea. One serving of 6 pieces is 60 calories, 1 WW, zero fat, zero cholesterol, 15 milligram of sodium, 10 grams of sugar, and no protein. Ingredients: cane sugar, glucose, ginger, modified cassava starch, non-hydrogenated palm kernel oil (trans fat free) salt, soy lecithin. Contains: Soy

Gin Gins Hard Candy: These hard Gin Gins are perfect when my mouth feels bland and want a little pick-me-up without having to whip out a full blown snack. Since these are hard candies, they last in my mouth a lot longer than the soft chews. Three Gin Gins contain 35 calories, 1 WW, zero grams of fat, zero cholesterol, zero sodium, 8 grams carbohydrates, 7 grams of sugar and no protein. Each Gin Gin contains 16% fresh ginger. 1/2 gram ginger per Gin Gin.

Stay tuned for more The Ginger People reviews….

Retails: $2.39 (3 oz bag) @ The Ginger People
My Cost: Free (won contest)
Calories: 60 per serving (6 pcs)
WW: 1

P.S: Check out these awesome giveaways:
Nature’s Path, Navitas Naturals,& Keurig

9 Comments

Filed under Candy, Whole Foods, WW: 1

9 responses to “The Ginger People Gin Gins

  1. balancejoyanddelicias

    love ginger candies! :)

  2. I like how you can put it in water and it makes ginger tea! That’s kind of fun :)

    Thanks for the reviews!!

  3. I love the ginger people’s candies. The peanut is my favorite :) The gin gin stuff sounds tasty–I haven’t tried it, but will soon!

  4. I think I should check these out. Do you know how they soothe the stomach? Can you tell a difference when you’ve eaten one? Sorry for all the questions..just curious. :-)

  5. I’ve never tried ginger candies…I wonder if the chewy one will be good in oatmeal, with pumpkin and other spices. ”Gingerbread oatmeal”, ya know? :p

  6. ah I may have to by these solely to show to my Ginge.. he’ll die!

  7. How did I not know about these – I love ginger & all things ginger! Gonna keep an eye out for these.

Leave a Reply

