The Ginger People Crystallized Ginger

IMG_0594The Ginger People’s Crystallized Ginger are tender chunks of candied baby ginger. Once I opened the resealable package the ginger scent came right at me. Kind of messy to eat because of all the sugar coating on the ginger. You get sugar all over your hands as well as the general area you are eating it at.  The bag is a little less than 1/2 filled, but we all know that companies sell things by weight and not volume anymore. Still, that is a little disappointing. The ginger chunks varies in size, you get some small pieces and you get some big piece and they are slightly bigger than a PB Puffin pillow. The texture of the crystallized ginger is surprisingly soft and tender. I thought it would be more firm like crystallized pineapples or crystallized papayas. No mistake that you are eating ginger because you get that delicious ginger flavor and mild spice from these chunks. Very soft, tender and jelly-like candy. No doubt that these might be too sweet for some of you guys. I treat them like delicious candy. Although it comes in a resealable bag, I won’t be taking it around with me. The sugar crystals can get a little messy. One serving of 24 grams (about 4 pcs) is 80 calories, 2 WW, 0 grams of fat, no cholesterol, 35 milligram of sodium, 19 grams of carbohydrates, 0 grams of fiber, 18 grams of sugar, and no protein. Ingredients: baby ginger and cane sugar.

Enjoy the sweet-heat, of crystallized baby ginger, harvested at the peak of its flavor and steeped in cane sugar syrup. One of the world’s original candies, crystallized ginger was commonly served at the end of the meal to aid digestion during the medieval times. The these tender, golden gems on you next trip as a soothing travel companion, use them as a flavorful baking ingredients or a nice ‘plunk’ into a good cup of tea! Satisfy your natural sweet tooth and settle you stomach with the goodness of crystallized ginger.


Retails: $2.39 for 3 oz bag @ The Ginger People
My Cost: Free (won contest)
Calories: 80 per 24g (about 4 pcs)
WW: 2

5 Comments

Filed under Candy, WW: 2

5 responses to “The Ginger People Crystallized Ginger

  1. interesting. i have yet to try these b/c i prefer the individually wrapped chews, as environmentally unfriendly as they are….

  2. Neat! I know there are health benefits to eating ginger I did not know about it being a digestion aid!

  3. I take ginger chews around with me when I commute to school on the bus. Really helps with the motion sickness/nausea in addition to digestive issues!

  4. I have been wanting to try these for a while! Every time I see the bag, I pick it up, but then put it back! I was worried they would be too spicy or pungent!

    Thanks for the review! I think I’ll pick them up and keep them “up” next time!

  5. I had no idea Ginger helped with digestive issues. That’s probably why my mom used to force Ginger Ale down my throat when I had a tummy ache.. ah, it all makes sense.

Leave a Reply

