The Ginger People Ginger Chews

IMG_0595My Ginger People post continues… the third element of the package includes all the ginger chews The Ginger People has available. Lucky me, I know.

Original: Great ginger flavor with a nice spicy kick to it. Has a chewy factor that sticks to all the nitty gritty places between your teeth. Great to end your meals with — settle your stomach or just enjoy for the heck of it. Previous review here.

Hot Coffee: Great coffee candy for the times you want some coffee, but have no access to it. The coffee flavor and ginger flavor blends together well. You can taste both flavors in here. The coffee flavor is not as strong as an espresso, but it  does the trick.

Apple Spice: Such a Fall flavor. I know it is officially Fall right now, but it is too hot here for me to enjoy this flavor. Has the ginger spice in the end. My least favorite of the 4 flavors.

Peanut: Great peanut flavor, but lacks the ginger spice the original ginger chew has. I am in love with this flavor. It even has small ground peanut bits inside. When I want real ginger flavor, I’ll go for the original, but peanut flavor has a special place in my heart. Any PB addict will LOVE this candy. Highly recommend this one.

The general texture of the chews are chewy and very stretchable (if you play with your food like me). There is a faint sugar “dusting” on each chew so it come off the wrapper easily. For a more firm texture, I like to store them in the fridge (plus, harder for me to get to). The heat in my mouth softens the chew in a matter of seconds. Highly enjoyable treat after meals or on the go. The resealable, and individual packaging is very convenient.

One serving (2 pcs) is 40 calories, 1 WW, 0 to 0.5 grams of fat, no cholesterol, 0 to 4 milligram of sodium, 9 to 10 grams of carbohydrates, no dietary fiber, 8 to 10 grams of sugar and no protein.

Retails: $2.39 per 3 oz bag @ The Ginger People
My Cost: Free (won contest)
WW: 1

10 Comments

Filed under Candy, Trader Joe's, Whole Foods, WW: 1

10 responses to “The Ginger People Ginger Chews

  1. I love ginger flavored candy; these chews sound really good.

  2. i have never tried the apple (that’s next on my list) but the coffee – i wonder if it has caffeine?!

  3. balancejoyanddelicias

    I’d love to try that chocolate flavor. Can’t imagine the mix of ginger with chocolate. :D

  4. I’m not a big ginger girl but coffee? I may have to try that ;)

  5. I thought I’d tried them all, but gasp, there’s a coffee flavor?? It sounds fantastic (just like the other flavors) :)

  6. Oh these all sound so good!!! I’m loving the sounds of the peanut and the apple flavor…

  7. Oh yum, flavors!!! They all sound good!

  8. I never knew if ginger candy would be good–I have seen these at my local health food store, and might have to try em’! Thanks for the review :-)

  9. haha these posts are just making me miss my beloved Ginge more and more ;) jay kay.. love the reviews as always!

  10. I love ginger chews!! I could seriously eat the whole bag…my mouth is on fire though :)

Leave a Reply

