Trader Joe’s Spicy Black Bean Dip

Picture 42Trader Joe’s Fat Free Spicy Black Bean Dip has become sort of a staple in my house. I used it for my “crack wraps” and it becomes so delicious. The dip is thick and smooth with a medium spicy level. The color is that of mushed black beans since the jar contains no preservatives, no artificial ingredients, and no oils added. One serving is 2 tablespoon (28 grams) and only 30 calories, 0 WW, fat-free, cholesterol-free, 160 milligram of sodium, 6 grams of carbohydrates, 2 grams of fiber, no sugar, and 2 grams of protein. Not too shabby in the protein department considering this is only a dip. Simple ingredients list: black beans, water, tomato paste, onions, distilled vinegar (from corn), honey, salt, jalapenos, spices, and garlic. I can really taste the vinegar and jalapeno flavor in here which I love. Besides “crack wrap”, I like to use this to dip veggies too. Makes eating veggies all the more exciting and flavorful. Sort of like a low calories hummus in my opinion. Black beans instead of garbanzo beans and minus any fats like tahini. Shelf stable so I buy a few jars at a time. Of course, you have to refrigerate after opening. Very delicious and reasonably priced at only $1.69. You got to love Trader Joes.

Retails: $1.69  per 12 oz jar @ Trader Joes
My Cost: $1.69
Calories: 30 per 2 tbsp (28g)
WW: 0

P.S: Check out these awesome giveaways:
U.S Mills, Hallie’s Likes, Healthy Cookie, & Nutrition Action

On the side note, Mambo Sprouts has their Back to School Coupon book out already. Keep on the look out for it to save some cash on your next shopping trip. They always have really good coupons on products we all love.

15 Comments

Filed under Beans, Dip, Trader Joe's, WW: 0

15 responses to “Trader Joe’s Spicy Black Bean Dip

  1. balancejoyanddelicias

    sounds like a great spread! Love simple ingredients products! :)

  2. I recently discovered a love for beans…
    Must be good in a wrap :)

    …I WANT THIS THING RIGHT NOW!!!

  3. LOVE black bean dip but I haven’t tried TJs brand! I may have to pick up a jar :)

  4. Definitely need to make a trip to T.J.s!

    FYI, do you have a macro button on your camera – it looks like a little flower? If you press that you’ll get clearer close up pics.

    Happy Friday! :D

    • Hehe. Thanks for the tip. This picture was taken with my logitech webcam because I left my camera at a friends place. Sorry for the crappy picture. Wish I had an DSLR so I can take pretty pretty picture all the time.

  5. TJ’s is the best!

    I never thought of using that for a crack wrap! Great idea!

  6. Haha, I definitely love that Trader Joe! All natural ingredients, low prices, and tasty (I sound like a commercial!)??? I tried that dip not too long ago and agree that the jalapeño and vinegar really come through–it’s delicious!

  7. IT IS MY ABSOLUTE FAVORITE!! :)

  8. i do like this dip, and i haven’t bought it in forever. what a convenient reminder….

  9. Love, love, love that dip! But I have stayed away from it for a while as my consumption of it had gone a bit out of hand… It’s time to get some more though! ;)

  10. nommmm I bet this would be great on wraps!

  11. healthnuttxo

    Jenny- it is! I use this on a wrap with chicken and sometimes some cheddar shredded soy cheese. YUM!

  12. IunderstandItsNotpersonal

    For the most inexpensive dip at TJ’s, I’d say not bad. I would also urge you to spend the extra $1 and get either artichoke spread or olive tapanade. If you want good bean dip, boil some pintos, add canola oil, S&P, garlic…maybe some fresh cilantro and pleeeeease don’t forget fresh roasted jalapenos, and you will surely call it better than TJ’s “spicy” bean dip.
    Go forth, and spice well.

Leave a Reply

