Nutland Foods

IMG_0260Hope you guys were able to sign up for a free sample on Nutland Foods‘ website before they ran out. After reviewing the 3 bite sample they sent over (signed up online), the kind people over at Nutland Foods sent over their other varieties for me to try out too.

Berries and Cherries Crunch: Love the combination of nuts. The berries stuck to my teeth and molars which made them a little annoying to eat. The sweetness in here makes me like to end my meals with it. A nice nutty and sweet end. Visually, I see mostly almonds, then cashews, pistachios and then the dried fruits (cherries, cranberries, and blueberries). The cherries add a bit of a tart taste to the whole combination. Previous review here.

Cashews: Love the cashew goodness. The sugar flavor was pretty prominent, but not as much as the varieties with mix nut in it. The buttery-ness of the cashews shone through easily. My favorite variety of the bunch.

Almond: Lots of almonds– duh. About 5-6 almonds per bite. Yum. Fresh tasting like all the other varieties.

Pistachio Crunch: Pure pistachio goodness. I counted about 10 pistachios molded together per little square crunch. A tad sweet, but nevertheless, really good. The nuts are fresh  and each bite is pure pistachio goodness.

Pecans: Pecans are naturally higher in fat content than other nuts so I was not surprised to see that 6 pieces came out to be 170 calories. Each bite has about 4 dry roasted pecans molded together. The pecans tasted really fresh with sweetness added to it. I swear I could taste a faint hint of cinnamon in there too, but cinnamon was not on the ingredients list. Maybe it is hidden under “spices”. Not as sweet as candied pecans, but I think these will serve well on top of salads to add your healthy fats.

Trail Mix: If I did not look at the bag, I thought I was eating the Berries and Cherries Crunch variety. Those two are very similar, but the Trail Mix lacks a little tartness the cherries provide. This and the Berries and Cherries variety are noticeable sweeter than the other single nut varieties. Also, maybe because those varieties are “stickier”, the pieces tend to stick to each other, but you can easily break them apart. The sugar gloss that molds the nuts and berries together are clearly visible. Sweet, but not sickeningly so. Did not even noticed the pecan in here until I looked at the ingredients list.

Overall, Nutland Foods are very tasty snacks that are easy to take along with you in their resealable packaging. I wouldn’t be afraid of the fat content since we all know nuts are good for all their MUFA which I find helps satisfy the body a lot longer than a fat-free/low fat diet. What I would be mindful about is the sugar content. If you enjoy snacks like Mareblu Naturals and Mrs. May Trio nut snacks, you will find these enjoyably. Comparing the three brands, I find that the individual nuts as well as the “nugget” size in Nutland Foods are bigger. Maybe it is because they do not mold the nuts together as tightly as the other brands.

Berries and Cherries Crunch: One serving 1 oz (28g/about 6 pieces), is 140 calories, 3 WW, 9 grams of fat (1.5 grams saturated), no cholesterol, 95 milligram of sodium, 12 grams of carbohydrates, 1 gram of dietary fiber, 7 grams of sugar, and 3 grams of protein. Ingredients list: dry roasted cashews, dry roasted almonds, evaporated cane juice, brown rice syrup, dry roasted pecans, dried sweetened cranberries (cranberries, sugar, sunflower oil), dry roasted pistachios, dried sweetened cherries (cherries, sugar, sunflower oil), dried sweetened blueberries (blueberries, sugar, sunflower oil), sea salt, natural flavor.

Cashew: One serving 1 oz (28g/about 6 pieces) is 140 calories, 3 WW, 10 grams of fat (2 gram saturated), no cholesterol, 100 milligram of sodium, 12 grams of carbohydrates, less than 1 grams of fiber, 6 grams of sugar, and 3 grams of protein. Ingredients: dry roasted cashews, evaporated cane juice, brown rice syrup, sea salt, natural flavor.

Almond: One serving 1 oz (28g/about 6 pieces) is 150 calories, 3 WW, 11 grams of fat (1 gram saturated), no cholesterol, 95 milligram of sodium, 9 grams of carbohydrates, 2 grams of fiber, 6 grams of sugar, and 5 grams of protein. Ingredients: dry roasted almonds, evaporated cane juice, brown rice syrup, sea salt.

Pistachio: One serving 1 oz (28g/about 6 pieces), is 140 calories, 3 WW, 10 grams of fat (1 grams saturated), no cholesterol, 95 milligram of sodium, 11 grams of carbohydrates, 2 gram of dietary fiber, 6 grams of sugar, and 4 grams of protein. Ingredients: dry roasted pistachios,evaporated cane juice, brown rice syrup, sea salt.

Pecan Crunch: One Serving of 1 oz (28g/about 6 pieces) is 170 calories, 4 WW, 16 grams of fat (1.5 grams saturated), no cholesterol, 95 milligram of sodium, 8 grams of carbohydrates, 2 grams of dietary fiber, 5 grams of sugar, and 2 grams of protein. Ingredients: dry roasted pecans, evaporated cane juice, brown rice syrup, sea salt, spice.Trail Mix: One Serving of 1 oz (28g/about 6 pieces), is 140 calories, 3 WW, 9 grams of fat (1.5 grams saturated), no cholesterol, 95 milligram of sodium, 12 grams of carbohydrates, 1 grams of fiber, 7 grams of sugar, and 3 grams of protein. Ingredients: Dry Roasted cashews, dry roasted almonds, evaporated cane juice, dried sweetened cranberries (cranberries, sugar, sunflower oil, brown rice syrup, dry roasted pecans, dry roasted pistachios, sea salt, natural flavor.

Retails: $3.99 per 5 oz bag @ Whole Foods
My Cost: Free
Calories: 140 to 170 per serving
WW: 3-4

13 Comments

Filed under Nuts, Whole Foods, WW: 3, WW: 4

13 responses to “Nutland Foods

  1. I hate when things get stuck to my teeth!! However, the nuts sounds really good – pecans with a hint of cinnamon? Yes, please!!

  2. I love cashews :)
    I would love to try the berries and cherries kind.

    *Drools*

  3. These sound awesome! I love Mrs. May Trio nuts, so I’m sure I will like these, but sadly I didn’t sign up for the samples :( I’ll just have to find them in stores!

  4. Darn, I missed the samples!

    These look delicious and addictive!

  5. I really need to hit up Whole Foods soon!

    P.S. Didn’t get a chance to use the Herbivore coupon, but thank you for being so lovely to send it!

  6. ow- these sound yummy! I love a good dried fruit/nut combo. I am going to WFs today- I will look for them!

  7. ter

    hi SP, i am just veryy curious. where do u reside? there seem to be many yummy healthy stuffs in ur country!

  8. these remind me of those true north nut clusters. Nature valley has also come out with similar ones. I guess clusters are totally in this season!

  9. Mmm, those look good! Have you ever tried Sahale Snacks? That’s kind of what these remind me of? I had them at Expo West — delicious!

  10. I LOVE nut clusters. I’m going to have to keep my eyes peeled for these!

Leave a Reply

