Justin’s Nut Butter

JustinsWhat do you think of when you want single portioned nut butters? I think of Justin’s  Nut butters that usually grace the bottom shelves of the Whole Foods nut butter/jam wall. The peanut butter are $0.69 a packet and the almond butter are $0.99 a packet. It is very easy to over eat with nut butters so I really like these pre-portioned packets. I eat more peanut butter and almond butter now because I can take them with me every where I go since these require no refrigeration. Simply just knead the packet before opening and squeeze the goodness out. Justin’s Nut butters offers 3 types of peanut butter and 3 types of almond butter for your choosing: Classic Peanut Butter, Honey Peanut Butter, Cinnamon Peanut butter, Classic Almond Butter, Honey Almond Butter, and Maple Almond Butter. Justin’s just launched their CHOCOLATE line: Chocolate Peanut butter, chocolate almond butter and chocolate hazel nut butter. So exciting. I wonder if the chocolate hazelnut butter will taste like Nutella?

Classic Peanut Butter: Smooth and easy to spread. No salt added so it is a on the bland side.

Honey Peanut Butter: The peanut butter is technically smooth, but at times, it felt a little nitty gritty. Must be from the honey powder and sea salt added to it. Since the salt and honey powder are added in crystal form, some bites of peanut butter is salt and some bites are had strong honey flavor. You really don’t know what sensation your taste buds will get until you taste it. I like the surprise. The combination of sea salt and honey powder makes this pb very savory, but not overly sweet. BTW, I was eating this plain with a spoon.

Cinnamon Peanut Butter: Your classic peanut butter with a hint of cinnamon. Very good on apples.

Classic Almond Butter: Delicious, but not as smooth as barney butter. Has a little gritty texture. Again, no salt so a little bland.

Honey Almond Butter: Delicious like the peanut butter version. Good almond butter taste. Had this on top of a homemade bran muffin. I don’t add any sugar to my muffins to this Honey AB complemented my muffin perfectly.

Maple Almond Butter: Tasted wonderful. The maple flavor is slight, but there. Almond butter is good, but almond butter with flavor is even better.

Honestly, I only use half of a packet eat time I use these Justin Nut butter squeeze packets. Luckily, Justin’s do carry smaller 100 calories versions. I pack my lunches with these easily portable packets. No mess, easy to squeeze, but if you want every single drop of it out of the squeeze pack, then it can get messy.

Nutritional Facts:
Almond Butters: One packet is 190-200 calories, 5 WW, 16-18 grams of fat (1.5 – 2 grams saturated), no cholesterol, zero to 65 milligram of sodium, 3 grams of fiber, 1-4 grams of sugar, and 6-7 grams of protein.

Peanut Butters: One packet is 180-190 calories, 5 WW, 15-17 grams of fat (2-3 grams saturated), no cholesterol, zero to 65 milligram of sodium, 2-3 grams of fiber, 1-2 grams of sugar, and 7 grams of protein.

Retails: $0.69/packet for PB & $0.99/packet for AB @ Whole Foods
My Cost: Free (Won in Giveaway)
Calories: 190 to 200 per 2 tbsp
WW: 5

News:

Marisela over at Nutridel contacted me and told me that their newly revamped site is up and ready. I updated the links in my original post so feel free to browse their fully functional site for more information one their Nutridel cookies that are only about 60 calories each.

Our fellow blogger Kristina over at Nikes and Ponytails is running for a good cause. With a small donation of at least $1.00, you will be entered into her massive giveaway. Check it out here and here and please help spread the news.

P.S: Check out these amazing giveaways:
Amazing Grass, Nuttzo Nut butter, Zensah, & EcoUseable Water Bottle


13 Comments

Filed under Nut Butter, Whole Foods, WW: 5

13 responses to “Justin’s Nut Butter

  1. I never buy Justin’s because they’re pretty expensive for the single packs, but I love the concept of portioned-out, on-the-go PB & AB.

  2. I have a packet of the Maple Almond Butter I haven’t tried yet, and now I’m excited to try it! Ugh, and chocolate nut butter is too good to be marketed. Seeeeriously :D

  3. I like the idea of portion-controlled nut butters. Plus, it’s great to take them along… I think I’ll have to add some to my “portable meals” components basket… ;)

  4. I love those portioned out nut butters. I first saw those at Great Harvest Bread. It’s nice not to be able to stick your spoon in the jar again!!

    AND Stephanie….CONGRATS! You won my give-away for True North Nut Clusters!!

    E-mail me your address and I will send a package right out to you.

  5. balancejoyanddelicias

    I want to try their chocolate line! :)
    I think these are really convenient to bring to work or on the road!

  6. ter

    this is so awesome! there are so many types of PB in the states unlike where i am right now…. =\

  7. julie

    mmmm I think I would like to try those 100cal packs! I would WAY overdo it with all those delish sounding flavors. mayyybe I’ll have to pick up a pack..or two..

  8. love love love justins!!! they are so convienient and tasty! they also sell them in big containers if you want one to keep in your fridge, not only the 100 cal packs!

    thanks for the post!!

  9. How on earth do you stop at 1/2 a pack. I’m usually running my car over them just to squeeze out every last drop…hehe, I have nut butter problems. :)

    Thanks for the giveaway link love!

  10. Peanut Butter Bliss

    hands down the maple falvor is the best!

  11. true story I am eating some Justin’s Cinnamon peanut butter right now :) love this stuff!

  12. I’ve only tried the honey almond butter once, but I am dying to try more!!! Thanks for the reviews!

  13. Kimberly

    Very excited about the chocolate PB & AB!!! YUM!

Leave a Reply

