Trader Joe’s Wheat Pizza Dough

IMG_0563What’s a bloggette to do when the pizza craving strikes? Make a homemade pizza of course. With the convenience of Trader Joe’s Wheat Pizza Dough, making healthy pizzas and calzones is as easy as ordering take-out pizza. Taking a little inspiration from Kate over at Cooking with Kate, the pizza queen, I whipped up my first batch of homemade pizza. First thing I did was separate the dough into 4 smaller chunks and wrap the portion I will not be using in saran wrap and stow it away in the freezer. They freeze really well. Following the directions of letting it stand for 20 minutes, the dough got a little bigger. I then preceded to add my ingredients. My sauce was the Trader Joe’s Fat Free Pizza sauce, with mozzarella cheese, spinach, mushrooms, shredded carrots, zucchini and a generous shake of oregano. I like to spread my pizza dough really really thin to get more surface area. If you fold the pizza dough over each other to encase the toppings, then you have yourself a nice little calzone. I thought I did a pretty good job, but I realize that after it cooks, the dough puffs up and raises a little so I could have thinned out the dough even more. All-in-all, my pizza creation was delicious and so simple with pre-made pizza dough. The pizza came out thicker than I had hoped, but the pizza had really good texture. Very chewy and with my topping and seasoning, it was not bland at all. A little high in the sodium department, but I don’t make pizza often so these are nice to hand on hand in the freezer.

Simple ingredients: unbleached wheat flour, whole wheat flour, filtered water, canola olive oil blend, sea and fresh yeast. One serving of 2 ounce (1/8 of package) is 120 calories, 2 WW, 1.5 grams of fat, no cholesterol, 440 milligram of sodium, 24 grams of carbohydrates, 2 grams of fiber, no sugar, and 3 grams of protein.

Check out these simple instructions straight from the bag:
Gently remove dough from bag and place on lightly floured work surface. Let dough rest for 20 minutes, then, for best results, stretch with hand or roll out with rolling pin to 12-inch diameter. Top with your favorite toppings and bake in a preheated 450 degrees oven or BBQ grill for 8-10 minutes, or until cheese begins to boil and the bottom of crust is golden brown.Use a hot pizza stone or lightly oiled pan for optimum results. Mangia!

Retails: $1.29 @ Trader Joe’s
My Cost: $1.29
Calories: 120 per serving (1/8)
WW: 2

P.S: Check out these awesome giveaways:
Molly’s Favorites,
Coconut Oil, Zevia & Anniversary Giveaway

20 Comments

Filed under Trader Joe's, WW: 2

20 responses to “Trader Joe’s Wheat Pizza Dough

  1. looks delish!

    did you make a pizza?? i want to see foodie pics!! :)

  2. Kat

    I recently tried this dough and had a similar review of it. I thought it was delicious and chewy but turned out a little thicker than I would have liked. I freezed my extras as well and I’m interested in seeing what that’s like when I try to use it.
    I enjoy reading through a lot of your reviews!

  3. I haven’t made pizza in ages. :) Actually, I haven’t had pizza AT ALL in ages. It’s kind of sad really. Whenever I feel like it, there’s always the freezer and the oven, know what I mean? That TJ’s dough looks great though! I might try it next time I stop by there.

  4. I’d like to try this…what part of the store did you find it in?

  5. I am so excited to try this. I haven’t done home made pizzas in ages.

  6. Holy crap, that is so awesome! I have yet to see this at my Trader Joe’s though. The only thing keeping me away from making my own pizzas is the high cost of pizza crust/pizza dough. I will definitely be on the look out!

  7. balancejoyanddelicias

    once again! Love Tj’s!!!! I haven’t seen this pizza dough though, need to check it out! :)

  8. OMG – I love that pizza dough! (although – the package they sell at my TJs is totally different lookign – isn’t that weird?!?!?!) I am a huge fan of their pizza sauce too – I tried Ragu Pizza sauce last week, and wanted to spit it out – I was like “BLECH! Where is my TJs goodness?!?” :)

    thanks for the link lovin’!

  9. I have always wanted to try out this pizza dough, thanks for the post! I’ll have to buy it next time, now that I know it’s good :)

  10. I love that dough! It is so versatile; I’ve even divided it up and made little dinner rolls with it, too!

    Never tried the Pizza Sauce; I will check it out next time!

  11. yum yum! i want to see a picture of your pizza deliciousness!!!!

  12. I think its so funny that you won my twin sisters giveaway, right after you won mine! Lucky!

    In a pinch I get that dough too! :D

  13. i love this dough. i just stashed some in my freezer.

  14. I love TJs crust… it’s only 99 cents at mine though… make them return your 30 cents :)

    Your pizza sounds soooo yummy!

  15. I’m glad to hear that the pizza creation was delicious–I was always weary of that fat free pizza sauce, but it’s good to know that it makes a yummy pizza! The dough sounds awesome, but I wish it was 100% whole grain!

Leave a Reply

