Almondina

Picture 069I always thought Almondina are thin versions of biscotti, but upon closer examination of the package and actaully trying them out, these are no biscotti. Rather, they are delicious thin cookies, in the shape of a mini biscotti, only thinner. So thin, in fact, you can see all the goodness baked into these cookies. Almondina does not skimp on the almonds and raisins that makes these so delicious. These cookies are hard and does not soak up liquid like a biscotti would. I just got a wet biscuit when I tried to dip mine in coffee. The mix of the chewy raisins, crunchy biscuit and almonds  makes these unstoppable to eat. I love the crunchy and chewy textures combine with the nutty, subtle sweet, and vanilla flavors. The package is rather small and contains 4 serving of 4 biscuits per serving. Comes out to be 133 calories per serving or 33 calories per cookie. Does not taste overly sweet but it does have 10 grams of sugar per serving. The package comes with 3 sections with 5 biscuits in each slot. So easy to finish off 1 slot at a time. These are very addictive. Besides the original, which is their all time best seller, Almondina offers flavors in: Choconut, Almonduo (almonds and pistachios), Sesame, Gingerspice, Anniversary, Brantreats (30% bran w/ cinnamon), Cinnaroma, Chocolate Dipped and a new flavor for Fall — Pumpkin Spice. Besides online and at Trader Joe’s, which only carries the Original, I have never seen Almondina at any of the stores I shop at. Time to keep my eyes peeled for the Almonduo and Pumpkin Spice flavors. I heard from a little bird (a.k.a Twitter), that Almondina has new seasonal flavors coming out REAL soon — like January to March 2010 soon. Surprise us, okay? Follow them on twitter  @Almondina. One serving of 4 biscuits is 133 calories, 3 WW, 3.9 grams of fat (0.30 gram  saturated), no cholesterol, 8.9 milligrams of sodium, 88 milligram of potassium, 1 gram of fiber, 21.5 grams of carbohydrates, 10 grams of sugar and 3 grams of protein.

Simple ingredients list:
Almonds, Flour (wheat flour and malt barley flour), Sugar, Egg Whites, Raisins, Natural Flavors. Kosher Pareve.

Can you see that the FIRST ingredient is almonds. Love that there are almonds in here more than anything else. Almond lovers rejoice.

Retails: $2.69 @ Trader Joe’s
My Cost: Free
Calories: 133 per serving (4 pcs)
WW: 3

P.S: Check out this awesome giveaway:
Get Well Giveaway

12 Comments

Filed under Cookies, Trader Joe's, WW: 3

12 responses to “Almondina

  1. I love almonds, and I love thin cookies. These sound great! I’ll have to look for them at TJ’s.

  2. balancejoyanddelicias

    I love biscottis, these should be really good too! :)

  3. Cinnaroma and pumpkin spice?! Loves. Thanks for featuring these! I haven’t had biscotti or biscotti-like treats in so long!

  4. Those cookies are pretty good! I’ve had them before. But only the plain kind from TJ…the flavored ones sound amazing!

  5. Whoa, did you say pumpkin spice? I’ve tried the original from Trader Joe’s and they are deeeelicious! Oh yeah, and love that almonds are the first ingredient!

  6. I ALWAYS see these at TJ’s and think about getting them–maybe next time I actually will! I always go for simple ingredients lists so this would be a great buy!

  7. Kat

    My mom used to eat these all the time when I was a kid, and I haven’t seen them in years! I remember thinking they were her “healthy cookies” but I like sneaking some from the pantry. Now that I know TJ’s sells them, I’m going to look for them on my next shop!

  8. yumola! I love biscotti — especially dipping it in coffee.. heavenly!

  9. That is pretty cool that almonds are the first ingredient listed! Thanks for pointing that out!

Leave a Reply

