AlbuqCookie Biscotti & Shortbread Cookies

IMG_0275AlbuqCookies are  biscotti & short bread cookies baked with love all the way from Albuquerque, New Mexico. Cute name and nice packaging with a very interesting story of how the owner of the company moved from New York to New Mexico. Shortly afterward, he started turning his baking hobby into an actual business and the brand AlbuqCookie was born. Check out this website for more high quality picture of the baking process and “meet” the creator of this brand — Stephen Hoffman. At first I was hesitant in trying these because I tend to shy away from baked goods that do not have nutritional information on the package. Glad I took the plunge because these are too good to miss out on.

Lavender Lemon Biscotti: First bite I could taste the subtle lemon flavor. Soft-baked biscotti rather than crispy crunchy kind. The lavender flavor is subtle, but I could barely taste the lemon flavor. 3 bite biscotti that tasted more like a cookie. I think the lavender might be more of a smell than a taste. I am not really use to a flowery tasting/smelling biscotti. Unique, but not my taste. Enriched (wheat) flour, sugar, butter (milk), eggs, organic lavender, baking powder, vanilla extract, lemon juice and salt.

Almond Toffee: Blew me away. Love the caramelized toffee. Crispy, crunchy and perfect for dipping biscotti. A perfect 3 bite biscotti to go with any cup of joe. Hard on the outside, crumbly on the inside, covered in bittersweet chocolate with almond flavor lingering on your tongue. Simple ingredients: enriched (wheat) flour, sugar, almonds, chocolate toffee chips, butter (milk), eggs, baking powder, vanilla extract, salt.

Pistachio Chocolate Chip Cranberry: The base of the biscotti is spot on again. Good size pistachio nuts distributed within although I could not really taste the pistachio flavor. The chocolate chip flavor was the strongest followed by the minimal dried cranberry bits. This combination was definitely interesting with a different taste in each bite. These are another one of my favorite. Simple ingredients: enriched (wheat) flour, sugar, butter (milk), chocolate chips, dried cranberries, pistachio nuts, eggs, baking powder, vanilla extract, salt.

Chocolate Pinon Nut: Harder and more biscotti like than the other 3 varieties. The pinon nuts don’t taste like much to me and there were just a couple embedded in the biscotti. Texture-wise, this one is the hardest of the 4 flavors so I like to dip this one in coffee. Good chocolate flavor, but not uber sweet and drizzled in chocolate. Simple ingredients: enriched (wheat) flour, sugar, chocolate chips, pinon nuts, butter (milk), cocoa, eggs, baking powder, vanilla extract, salt.

Green Chile Pecan Sandia Cookies: Super buttery and melts in your mouth good. Each cookie is not that big. Perfect tea side component. Love the pecan bits in there and the green spice kick. Literally melts in your mouth. These are delicious and are to die for. My favorite of the cookies. Simple ingredients: enriched (wheat) flour, butter (milk), sugar, pecans, eggs, green chili powder, vanilla extract, salt.

Leah Rosie’s Chocolate Pepper Chile Cookies: Hard. Very chocolatey and sweet. Chile spice kicks in at the end.  These taste very hard considering they should be shortbread cookies. Very unique since you get the chili flavor as an end note in these, but I could pass on this one. Simple ingredients: enriched (wheat) flour, sugar, butter (milk), cocoa, eggs, cinnamon, red chili powder, red/black pepper, ginger powder, vanilla extract, salt.

If you ever visit Albuquerque, New Mexico, be sure to bring back some as gifts. Truly a special gem from Albuquerque. Highly suggest the Almond Toffee Biscotti, Pistachio Chocolate Chip Cranberry Biscotti and the Green Chile Pecan Sandia Cookies. Want some AlbuqCookies of your own? You can win a bag from Stephen’s monthly drawing. Enter here. Or you can visit AlbuqCookies and show Stephen some love.


Retails: $8.00 per bag @ AlbuqCookie Online
My Cost: Free
Calories: N/A
WW: N/A

P.S: Check out these awesome giveaways:
Chia Seeds, Pepper Dog Salsa, Celebrate Twitter, & Pumpkin

8 Comments

Filed under Biscotti, Cookies

8 responses to “AlbuqCookie Biscotti & Shortbread Cookies

  1. Those are some interesting combinations! The Pistachio CC Cranberry sounds good!

  2. balancejoyanddelicias

    As a biscotti lover, I want to try their lemon lavader biscotti! :D

  3. MMMM biscotti = LOVE! I think they all sound great – love the combinations.

    Thanks for the Pumpkin contest shoutout!

  4. I used to have biscotti every morning with my cup of coffee (thanks to TJs) but I ran out. I’ll have to try out these ones!

  5. Interesting flavors! Thanks for the reviews!

  6. Wow those flavor combinations are crazy! I have yet to venture out into that category. There is a creamery near me that sells honey lavender ice cream. Still trying to get the nerve to try it even though all I hear is how awesome it is. Haha.

  7. a green chile biscotti? sounds interesting! I loveeeee biscotti — so perfect for dipping in coffee (or crumbling over coffee oats, if you’re a crazy chick like me! :) )

  8. This reminds me of Italy. I ate SO much biscotti when we went to Italy last year. That’s when my love for biscotti officially started :)

Leave a Reply

