Wildwood Organics Priobitic Hummus Spicy Cayenne

IMG_0606Following the probiotic trend, I sampled the Wildwood Organics Probiotic Hummus in Spicy Cayenne. They were not kidding when they say this is spicy. I got the initial mouth burn from the spice and then it sort of mellowed down while I ate it. When I was done, the mouth burning sensation lingered for a bit.  I can taste a little hint of the “probioticness” in the hummus because it had a little “probiotic soymilk” taste to it. Smooth, but not as creamy as I had hoped. The texture and the color reminds me of baby food — pureed carrots to be exact. One serving of 2 tablespoon (28g) is 70 calories, 2 WW, 5 grams of fat (0.5 gram saturated), no cholesterol, 95 milligram of sodium, 3 grams of carbohydrates, 1 gram of dietary fiber, 1 gram of sugar and 1 gram of protein. This product is Organic, Vegan, Kosher and contains live and active cultures. Ingredients: Fresh Cooked Garbanzo Beans* (Garbanzo*, water), Canola Oil*, Tahini*, Garlic*, Spices*, Sea Salt, Lemon or Lime Concentrate*, Cayenne Pepper*, Active Cultures (L. acidophilus, Bfidobacterium ssp., L casei) *Organic.

The Live Food Advantage — Promoting Healthy Digestion.

Creamy, Smooth & Full of Flavor Promoting Healthy Digestion
Contains Probiotic Cultures
Cooking Fresh Garbanzo Beans Since 1980

Other flavors that might interest you include: Classic, Indian Spice, Low Fat Classic, Raspberry Chipotle, and Roasted Red Pepper — all organic and probiotic of course. Probiotics in hummus, yogurt and soymilk now, I wonder what they will come up with next.

Retails: N/A (will update when I find out)
My Cost: Free
Calories: 70 per 2 tbsp
WW: 2

P.S: Check out these amazing giveaways:
Amazing Grass, Pom Tea, NuGo, Shoes, Justin’s Nutbutter, &  Nuts

23 Comments

Filed under Dip, Hummus, Whole Foods, WW: 2

23 responses to “Wildwood Organics Priobitic Hummus Spicy Cayenne

  1. WOW! I so want to try this. I’m a huge spice fan and I love me some hummus!

  2. traveleatlove

    Yumm love hummus

  3. I got super sick the last time I had hummus and I am still scarred. Haha. Maybe now is the time to jump back on the bandwagon?

  4. Wow. That Raspberry Chipotle one sounds amazing!

  5. balancejoyanddelicias

    the wildwood products really sound good! I want to try them all! :)

  6. Thanks for the link back! And that hummus looks totally divine…

  7. I love really spicy foods. Thanks for the review! :)

  8. I love wildwood products, I don’t see as many in S. Cali as I do in Nor Cal. I made my first homemade humus last night and it is good, needs some work on the thickness, but oh well!

  9. I love spicy!! However, that’s too bad it’s not that creamy – oh well, I’d still try it :)

  10. Probiotics are ending up in some interesting places these days!

    I love hummus, but I’d probably stick with a milder one. I’m wimpy when it comes to spicy things -LOL!

  11. my gosh probiotics in HUMMUS?? now that’s a new one!!!

    I’m totally starting on your review-style wagon and doing the whole Retail/My cost labels at the end. :) Thank you for your great example…so professional! and will keep you safe from the new FTC rules!!

  12. Thanks for your comment on my blog the other day!

    This sounds delicious :)

  13. I am not a huge fan of spicy — but I am a huge fan of hummus. The raspberry chipotle is very intriguing.. hmmmmmm.

  14. julie

    Ahh I love love love wildwood hummus! Indian spice is totally the best :)

  15. How cool that they managed to put probiotics in the hummus. And I love spicy. BUT, creamy is a must – boo :/

  16. Hi there! I followed you over here from Team Giles blog.

    I tried this brand of hummus, too, and I am not a big fan. I couldn’t get over the texture.

    I am a fan of Sabre hummus though. Amazing in every flavor!

  17. I love all things spicy – I’ll have to look for it! :D

  18. I never tried hummus! I will have to tried it. So where will I get it from?

    • I have not personally seen these at the store, but try your local health foods store or Whole Foods.

      If you are a hummus newbie, I suggest getting a tub of Sabra Hummus. They are delicious and you will be hooked.

  19. Hey girl. You won my giveaway! Email me your address at mengel3 (@) gmail (dot) com. Congrats!

  20. I have actually never tried hummus! Sad, but true. I need to get on that ASAP ha ha.

  21. Huh…probiotic hummus. How interesting! I would love to try that. I will have to hunt for it. I am ALL ABOUT those little buggies :)

Leave a Reply

